University of Memphis Names Four Finalists for President

By Bill Dries

The current provost at the University of Memphis, a former president of the University of Alabama, a vice chancellor at the University of Arkansas and the provost of the College of Charleston are the four finalists to become the next president of the University of Memphis.

A search advisory committee to the Tennessee Board of Regents made its recommendation Thursday, March 6.

The finalists are:

David Rudd, provost at the University since March 2013. As provost, Rudd leads the schools’ academic affairs division. He came to Memphis from the University of Utah, were he was a dean.

Guy Bailey, former president of the University of Alabama and Texas Tech University.

Sharon Gaber, provost and vice chancellor for academic affairs at the University of Arkansas.

George W. Hynd, provost and executive vice president for academic affairs at the College of Charleston (S.C.).

The four will meet with faculty and staff and other local groups March 16 to 25 on campus, with several forums being planned.

The search committee received more than 70 applications and worked with a search firm to narrow the field.

Brad Martin has been interim president of the city’s largest institution of higher learning since July, following the departure of Shirley Raines. Martin has said his goal is to serve a year in the post.