School Board Fields Almost Set as Early Voting Ends

By Bill Dries

So far, the Nov. 7 municipal school board races in Arlington and Collierville will be a formality.

The withdrawal deadline for candidates who have filed to run in the six sets of elections in Shelby County’s suburban towns and cities is Thursday, Oct. 3, at noon.

Thursday is the withdrawal deadline for candidates in Shelby County's suburban school board races. All the candidates in Arlington and Collierville, which have five-member school boards each, are running unopposed.

(Daily News File/Lance Murphey)

At the Sept. 26 filing deadline, all five school board races in Collierville were uncontested races.

In addition, Dexter Orman withdrew this week from the Position 2 school board race in Arlington, where he had been facing an election skirmish with Barbara Fletcher in Arlington’s only contested school board race.

That means Arlington and Collierville are not required under state law to have an early voting period in advance of the Nov. 7 election day.

Follow for updates after Thursday’s withdrawal deadline.

Thursday is also the final day of early voting for the Oct. 8 Democratic primary for State House District 91.

Early voting hours are from 10 a.m. to 7 p.m. at Shelby County Election Commission headquarters Downtown, 157 Poplar Ave.; Glenview Community Center, 1141 S. Barksdale St.; Greater Middle Baptist Church, 4982 Knight Arnold Road; and Riverside Baptist Church, 3560 S. Third St.

Through Tuesday, Oct. 1, 305 citizens had voted early in the District 91 Democratic primary, with Monday, Sept. 30, seeing the highest daily turnout by far.

More than a third of early voters through Tuesday – 110 citizens – voted on Monday; more than half of those voted at Riverside Baptist Church.

The legislative district includes 32,960 registered voters across 39 precincts.

On two days during the early voting period, which began Sept. 18, no one showed up to cast early ballots.

The winner of the primary among seven contenders advances to the Nov. 21 general election against independent candidate Jim Tomasik.