Limited Approach Taken to Judicial Redistricting

ERIK SCHELZIG | Associated Press

NASHVILLE (AP) – Senate Speaker Ron Ramsey has unveiled his proposal for redrawing Tennessee's judicial districts for the first time since 1984.

The Blountville Republican's plan would affect just eight of the existing 31 judicial districts. Ramsey said the plan had drawn the support of the association representing the state's trial judges, who as recently as last week had opposed changes.

The proposal would create separate judicial districts for Rutherford and Williamson counties because of population growth in the Nashville suburbs over the last three decades.

Two judicial districts in northeastern Tennessee made up of Lake, Dyer, Obion and Weakley counties would be merged into a single district.

Meanwhile, Coffee County would cease to have its own district and would be joined into one with Cannon, Warren and Van Buren counties.

Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.