Johnson Named Chairman of Higher Education Commission

By Bill Dries

Cato Johnson, senior vice president of corporate affairs for Methodist Le Bonheur Healthcare, is the new chairman of the Tennessee Higher Education Commission. Johnson was the unanimous choice of the commission after serving as vice chairman last year.

The commission is the public policy coordinating body for the state’s higher education system, which includes nine universities and 13 community colleges totaling 252,000 students.

Johnson has been on the commission for five years and oversees a board of 15. Other Shelby County residents on the board are Memphis Mayor A C Wharton Jr., Secretary of State Tre Hargett and state Treasurer David Lillard.