Weirich and Ross Unopposed At Filing Deadline

By Bill Dries

Shelby County District Attorney General Amy Weirich appeared to have no opposition in the March GOP primary for the job as the county’s top prosecutor.

Democrat Steve Ross also advanced to the August county general in the race for Shelby County Commission District 1 Position 3 at the Thursday, Dec. 8, noon deadline for candidates to file their qualifying petitions.

All candidates who filed have until Thursday, Dec. 15, to withdraw from the ballot if they wish.

Two listings of filers on the same Shelby County Election Commission website had discrepancies two hours after the filing deadline. One list had one more name than the other.

But it appeared Ross and Weirich effectively won their respective primaries at the deadline.

Meanwhile, attorney Glen Wright filed in the March Democratic primary for district attorney general. He faces Memphis City Council member Carol Chumney and attorney and former federal prosecutor Linda Nettles Harris in the race to decide Weirich’s opponent in the August general election.

Shelby County Commissioner Henri Brooks joined the field of contenders in the Democratic primary for General Sessions Court clerk, according to one list on the election commission’s website but not the other. The Democratic field already included county commission chairman Sidney Chism, the elected but suspended and indicted clerk Otis Jackson, the appointed interim clerk Ed Stanton Jr. and Marion Brewer.

The Republican contenders for clerk are Rick Rout and James Finney.

Patricia Jackson is listed as the lone independent candidate for clerk.

In the race for the remaining two years in the four-year term of county commissioner Mike Carpenter, Ross will face either Steve Basar or former commissioner Marilyn Loeffel, who both filed in the GOP primary.

Democratic Shelby County Assessor of Property Cheyenne Johnson had two challengers in that primary at the deadline – Steve Webster and Charlotte Draper. There are three contenders in the Republican primary for assessor: John Bogan, Randy Lawson and Tim Walton.