Nominees Named for State Education Awards


NASHVILLE (AP) – The Tennessee Department of Education has announced nominees for 2011 principal and supervisor of the year.

The principal nominees are: Evangeline Montgomery, Blountville Elementary; David Watts, Sweetwater High; Karen Hollis, Ganns Middle Valley Elementary, Hamilton County; Geeta McMillan, Cassville Elementary, White County; Larry Brown, J.E. Woody Elementary, Maury County; Debbie Bogdan, Discovery School, Dickson County; Teresa Jackson, Martin Elementary; Ricky Catlett, West Middle, Jackson-Madison County; Rita White, Riverwood Elementary.

Supervisor nominees are: Mae Fowler, Putnam County; Christine Ziegler, Meigs County; Angela Bunn, Huntingdon Special School District; Brenda Brown, Coffee County; Carol Whaley, Carter County; Mary Jane Ailor, Knox County; Timothy Rogers, Henderson County; B.J. Worthington, Clarksville-Montgomery; Deanna McClendon, Shelby County.

Winners will be announced later this month.

Copyright 2011 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.