» Subscribe Today!
More of what you want to know.
The Daily News

Forgot your password?
TDN Services
Research millions of people and properties [+]
Monitor any person, property or company [+]

Skip Navigation LinksHome >
VOL. 125 | NO. 63 | Thursday, April 1, 2010

UPDATE: Two Open County School Board Seats At Filing Deadline

Seven Tn. Legislators From Shelby Run Unopposed

By Bill Dries

Print | Front Page | Email this story | Email reporter | Comments ()

The Aug. 5 elections will feature two races for open seats on the Shelby County school board.

At the noon Thursday filing deadline for the four odd-numbered district seats as well as the state and federal primaries, board member Anne Edmiston did not file for another four-year term. Board member Teresa Price had announced earlier that she would not be running either.

The race for Price’s District 1 seat is between Snowden Carruthers and Charlene White.

The contenders for Edmiston’s District 3 seat are Lara A. McIntyre and David Reaves.

County school board chairman David Pickler is facing a challenge from Ken Hoover in District 5.

District 7 incumbent Ernest Chism had no opposition at the Thursday deadline, meaning he was effectively re-elected to another four-year term.

The terms of the seven school board members are staggered. The even numbered districts are up for election in 2012.

In the state legislative primaries, seven of the 19 House and Senate incumbents whose positions are on the ballot were unopposed and will return to the Legislature for new terms in January.

They are:

- District 33 Democratic state Sen. Reginald Tate.

- District 83 Republican state Rep. Mark White.

- District 90 Democratic state Rep. John DeBerry.

- District 92 Democratic state Rep. G.A. Hardaway

- District 96 Republican state Rep. Steve McManus.

- District 97 Republican state Rep. Jim Coley.

- And District 98 Democratic state Rep. Ulysses Jones.

Three other Shelby legislative incumbents will face challengers in their party primaries. But they have no opposition from the other party or independent candidates.

They are:

- Dist 84 Democratic state Rep. Joe Towns

- Dist. 87 Democratic state Rep. Karen Camper

- And Dist. 99 Republican state Rep. Ron Lollar.

House Speaker Pro Tem Lois DeBerry, the longest-serving member of the delegation elected to the state House in 1972, drew opposition from Republican Arnold Weiner. The two will meet in the November general election. Each is unopposed in the August primaries.

District 95 Republican state Rep. Curry Todd has opposition from independent candidate Christian Johnson but no Democratic opposition.

The three special judicial non-partisan elections on the August ballot are topped by a race in General Sessions Criminal Court between incumbent Lee Wilson, appointed last year by the Shelby County Commission, and Chris Turner, an attorney and former state legislator as well as the former General Sessions Court clerk.

The appointees to two vacancies in Circuit Court are also seeking election in those special elections.

Division 4 Judge Lorrie K. Ridder is being challenged by attorneys Michael G. Floyd and Gina Higgins.

Division 8 Judge Rhynette Northcross Hurd is being challenged by attorney JoeDae Jenkins, Venita Martin and Bob Weis. Jenkins and Martin were the other two finalists the Judicial Nominating Commission recommended to Gov. Phil Bredesen for the vacancy.

PROPERTY SALES 81 201 16,108
MORTGAGES 40 104 10,026
BUILDING PERMITS 130 336 38,272
BANKRUPTCIES 28 56 7,528