» Subscribe Today!
More of what you want to know.
The Daily News

Forgot your password?
TDN Services
Research millions of people and properties [+]
Monitor any person, property or company [+]

Skip Navigation LinksHome >
VOL. 124 | NO. 43 | Wednesday, March 4, 2009

Saint Francis Weight Loss Center Appoints Weaver Medical Director

By Taylor Shoptaw

Print | Front Page | Email this story | Email reporter | Comments ()
Virginia Weaver
Gar N. Schwippert
Leah S. Ball
James P. Stanzell
Van D. Turner Jr.
Michelle Cardosi
Lisa Proctor
George McCaughan
Michelle Bingham

Virginia Weaver has been appointed medical director of the Saint Francis Center for Surgical Weight Loss.

Weaver has been associated with the center since its inception and is currently the only surgeon performing gastric bypass surgery in the Memphis area. In addition to her responsibilities as medical director, Weaver will continue to serve as the center’s primary surgeon.

Weaver earned her medical degree at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center and served as a resident in general surgery at UT’s Department of Surgery. She completed postgraduate studies at the U.S. Surgical Embassy in Norwalk, Conn., and Ohio State University.

Gar N. Schwippert and Leah S. Ball have joined Nahon, Saharovich & Trotz PLC as associates in the firm’s auto accident litigation group. Schwippert previously worked as an associate with an insurance defense law firm. Ball worked in civil litigation with a private Memphis law firm before serving as an attorney for the city of Truman, Ark.

Hayden Lait has been selected by The American College of Trial Mediators to receive the status of Distinguished Fellow for 2009. Membership in the college is limited to practitioners of mediation, academics and administrators who have substantial experience in their field and have been recognized for their accomplishments.

Carson Looney, principal of Looney Ricks Kiss Architects Inc., has been honored by Builder Magazine as one of the “30 Most Influential People in Home Building of the Last 30 Years” during the 2009 International Builders’ Show. Looney was recognized for his overall contribution to innovative design in the building industry and was one of only four architects selected for the honor. Looney was also inducted into the Best in American Living Awards Inaugural Class of the Hall of Fame.

Reynolds, Bone & Griesbeck PLC has promoted Amy Albert to audit senior, Mary Johnston to audit senior, Joseph Callicutt to audit senior, Anne Hull to tax senior, Sherry Burrage to tax manager, Todd Bob to audit senior manager, Terry Johnson to audit senior manager, Lewis Perkins to audit senior manager, Kay Williams to audit senior manager and Laurinda Ingram to tax senior manager. The firm also has added Ralph Gabb to its auditing staff.

James P. Stanzell and Van D. Turner Jr. have joined the Memphis office of Butler, Snow, O’Mara, Stevens & Cannada PLLC. Stanzell will focus on health care law, regulator compliance counsel and advice, and government and internal investigations. Turner will focus on labor and employment law, education law, and public law and finance.

Michelle Cardosi and Lisa Proctor have joined accounting firm Cannon Wright Blount. Cardosi will work in the staffing department and will be responsible for outsourced accounting and finance functions for clients. Proctor has joined as a senior auditor.

Frederick J. Lewis of Ogletree, Deakins, Nash, Smoak & Stewart PC and Glen G. Reid and Charles M. Key of Wyatt, Tarrant, & Combs LLP have been named to the “150 Best Lawyers 2009” list published by BusinessTN magazine.

Andrew Luther has joined Strategic Financial Partners as a financial services representative. Jean Elliot has joined the firm as an administrative assistant. Robin Gann and Joe Crane, registered representatives, have earned the Investment Advisor Representative designation.

George McCaughan has been named president of MBI. McCaughan previously served as chief operating officer for MBI. Michelle Bingham has been named corporate team leader, Sonja Redding has been named business development leader and Corey Oselies has been named health care team leader.

Methodist Le Bonheur Healthcare has recognized its Miracle in Motion award recipients. They are Eldred Chatman, food and nutrition, Methodist University Hospital; Betty Gutierrez, medical technologist, Methodist South; Billy McVay, Courtney Ward, security, Methodist Germantown; and speech pathologist, Le Bonheur Children’s Medical Center. The award recipients are selected based on experiences that demonstrate excellent customer service to patients.

PROPERTY SALES 76 133 1,342
MORTGAGES 83 131 1,047
BUILDING PERMITS 190 277 3,028