» Subscribe Today!
More of what you want to know.
The Daily News

Forgot your password?
TDN Services
Research millions of people and properties [+]
Monitor any person, property or company [+]

Skip Navigation LinksHome >
VOL. 124 | NO. 18 | Wednesday, January 28, 2009

U of M’s Heath Given Distinguished Teaching Award

By Taylor Shoptaw

Print | Front Page | Email this story | Email reporter | Comments ()
Dr. Julia Heath
Steve Mulroy
Amy Dudek
Matt Abernathy
William L. Finney
Elaine Dudley

Dr. Julia Heath, professor of economics at the University of Memphis, has been honored with the Kenneth G. Elzinga Distinguished Teaching Award by the Southern Economic Association.

The annual award honors faculty members for outstanding contributions to economics education. Heath has taught at the U of M for 22 years and received recognition from the Tennessee Bankers Association, the Tennessee Higher Education Commission and the Institute for Financial Literacy.

Steven Mulroy, a Shelby County Board of Commissioners member and University of Memphis law professor, has been honored by FairVote as a Democracy Innovator in 2008. Mulroy was honored for effective advocacy of instant runoff voting, which was supported by 71 percent of voters for future city elections in Memphis. He was also honored for his law review articles about proportional voting systems and the National Voting Rights Act. FairVote is a national nonpartisan, nonprofit election reform and voting rights organization.

State Sen. Mark Norris, R-Collierville, has been honored as “Tennessee Legislator of the Year” for 2008 by WKNO. Norris was honored with the award for his help in securing state appropriations for the six public television stations in Tennessee and for being instrumental in getting the financial support necessary for the state’s public stations to complete their digital transitions.

Ralph Bond has joined Shoemaker Financial as a registered representative. His primary focus will be working with small businesses, business executives and health care professionals.

Amy Dudek of Glankler Brown PLLC has been named league attorney for the Junior League of Memphis and has been named to the founding Board of Trustees for the Bluff City College Preparatory Charter School. Dudek represents clients in state and federal court in all aspects of commercial, insurance and employment litigation cases.

Roger S. Hill, Robyn Crawford, Stephen Horn and Matt Abernathy have joined Strategic Financial Partners as financial services representatives.

Ten attorneys from the Memphis office of Butler, Snow, O’Mara, Stevens & Cannada PLLC have been selected for Mid-South Super Lawyers 2008. They are Denise D. Burke, Charles C. Harrell, Frank M. Holbrook, Eric E. Hudson, David P. Jaqua, Lisa M. Martin, Charles F. Morrow, Randall D. Noel, Daniel W. Van Horn and Virginia B. Wilson.

William L. Finney has joined Argyle Benefits Consultants LLC as an account manager. Prior to the position, Finney worked for CIGNA HealthCare and Equitable Life. He earned a bachelor’s degree in history from Georgia Southwestern State University and is a member of Leadership Memphis.

Elaine Dudley of Crye-Leike Realtors has earned her professional real estate designation as an Accredited Buyer Representative. Dudley is a sales associate based in the company’s Forest Hill-Irene branch office and helps buyers in Germantown, Collierville and East Memphis. Also, Wendy Rylee of Crye-Leike has earned her professional real estate designation as a Certified Relocation Associate. Rylee is a licensed affiliate broker and assists buyers in and around Shelby and Fayette counties. She has specialized in new home construction for the past two years.

Luminetx Corp. has added the following people to its board of directors: James DelMauro, Dr. Gunnar Lovhoiden, Susannah H. O’Sullivan, Kyle Rice and Dr. Michael Breiner.

PROPERTY SALES 28 290 16,197
MORTGAGES 33 165 10,087
BUILDING PERMITS 184 608 38,544
BANKRUPTCIES 33 125 7,597