» Subscribe Today!
More of what you want to know.
The Daily News

Forgot your password?
Skip Navigation LinksHome >
VOL. 124 | NO. 239 | Monday, December 7, 2009

Memphis Bar Assn. Elects New Officers, Board Members

By Rebekah Hearn

Print | Front Page | Email this story | Email reporter | Comments ()

At the Memphis Bar Association’s Annual Meeting Thursday at The Peabody hotel, the MBA announced its 2010 officers and new members of its board of directors.

Immediate past president Art Quinn passed the gavel to incoming president Ricky E. Wilkins of the Law Offices of Ricky E. Wilkins. John Cannon of Shuttleworth Williams PLLC and Gary K. Smith of Apperson Crump & Maxwell PLC automatically move to the positions of vice president/president-elect and treasurer, respectively. Linda Warren Seely, director of pro bono projects at Memphis Area Legal Services Inc., was chosen as secretary.

The new MBA board members and their respective firms or work places are Sherry Brooks, ServiceMaster; Frank Cantrell, MALS; Elizabeth Collins, Thomason Hendrix Harvey Johnson & Mitchell PLLC; Craig Conley, Baker Donelson Bearman Caldwell & Berkowitz PC; Porter Field, Burch Porter & Johnson PLLC; Michael Fletcher, The Law Office of Michael Fletcher; Odell Horton Jr., Wyatt Tarrant & Combs LLP; Lisa LaVigne Kelly, Shelby County Government; Steve Ragland, Bass Berry & Sims PLC; Van Turner, Butler Snow O’Mara Stevens & Cannada PLLC; and Kyle M. Wiggins of Baker Donelson, who also recently took the presidency of the MBA’s Young Lawyers Division.

The returning board members are: Lee Chase, Glankler Brown PLLC; Sara Hall, Memphis & Shelby County Airport Authority; Marcy Magee, Thomason Hendrix Harvey Johnson & Mitchell PLLC; Mike McLaren, Black McLaren Jones Ryland & Griffee PC; Ruby Wharton, The Wharton Law Firm; and Will Zoccola, Zoccola Law Firm.

The MBA’s section representatives for 2010 will be Steve Shields of Jackson Shields Yeiser & Holt, Jennifer Sisson of Sisson and Sisson Law Firm and Laurel Williams with Burch Porter.

Also at the annual meeting Thursday, Tennessee Supreme Court Chief Justice Janice M. Holder accepted the W.J. Michael Cody Pro Bono Attorney of the Year Award from MALS on behalf of the state Supreme Court.

Amy Webb Martin with The Landers Firm and Bobby F. Martin Jr. with The Cochran Firm were jointly honored with the Sam A. Myar Jr. Memorial Award as young attorneys who have “rendered outstanding personal service to the Memphis and Shelby County legal professional and community,” according to the statement issued by the MBA.

The Judge Jerome Turner Lawyer’s Lawyer Award went to Blanchard E. Tual with Tual Graces PLLC. This award is presented every year to a lawyer who has practiced for 15 years or more and has exemplified the goals of the Guidelines for Professional Courtesy and Conduct. In 2000, this award was renamed in honor of Judge Turner, who was MBA president when the guidelines were adopted.

Sign-Up For Our Free Email Edition
Get the news first with our daily email

Blog News, Training & Events
PROPERTY SALES 80 401 13,843
MORTGAGES 99 439 16,005
BUILDING PERMITS 233 998 28,755
BANKRUPTCIES 49 276 8,926

Weekly Edition

Issues | About

The Memphis News: Business, politics, and the public interest.