Rhea Receives WKNO’s Distinguished Service Award

Wednesday, December 23, 2009, Vol. 124, No. 251

Stephen H. Rhea

Stephen H. Rhea has received the Julian Bondurant Distinguished Service Award from WKNO Public Broadcasting.

Rhea is the WKNO Capital Campaign chair and led the campaign for the digital transition that brought in $16.9 million. The campaign enabled the station to build the Digital Media Center.

Rhea served on the WKNO Board of Trustees from 1991 through 1998 and 1999 through 2005 and served as chairman of the board from 1999 through 2003.

Rhea is co-president and financial adviser at Summit Asset Management LLC.

Robert G. Adams has been elected president of the Employer Service Assurance Corp. In his role, Adams will lead the association’s board of directors in administering its accreditation program for the $68 billion professional employer organization industry. Adams is chairman of the board for Adams Keegan Inc.

Dr. Sandra W. Cohen has joined the Department of Internal Medicine at the Germantown office of UT Medical Group Inc. Cohen is board-certified by the American Board of Internal Medicine with added qualifications in geriatrics. She serves as assistant professor of medicine at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center.

Marshall Talley has joined Paragon National Bank as senior credit officer and senior vice president. Talley will be responsible for Paragon’s loan policy and compliance and he will monitor the quality of the loan portfolio.

J. David Blaylock has been named the Memphis Best Lawyers Bankruptcy and Creditor-Debtor Rights Lawyer of the Year for 2010 by Best Lawyers in America. Blaylock concentrates his practice in the areas of creditors’ rights, bankruptcy, insolvency, secured creditor representation and general commercial law at Glankler Brown PLLC.

Judy Smith has been honored by the Aging Commission of the Mid-South for her volunteer work with the elderly. Smith is a licensed master social worker.

Southwest Tennessee Community College has named its Macon Cove campus library Bert Bornblum Library. The library is named in honor of Bornblum for his support of Southwest, which began in 1994 when he joined the school’s Foundation Board. Bornblum and his brother, David, established the Bornblum Brothers Scholarship Endowment Fund at Southwest in 2002. They also were co-recipients of the 2004 Tennessee Board of Regents Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Philanthropy at Southwest.

Ben Campbell has joined Askew Hargraves Harcourt & Associates Inc. as a civil designer. Campbell received his bachelor’s degree in civil and environmental engineering from Christian Brothers University in 2009. Steve Brigance has joined A2H as project engineer one. Brigance has more than 10 years of experience in residential, commercial and industrial projects.

Dr. Peter W. Carter has joined The Family Cancer Center. Carter is an oncologist and has practiced in Tennessee for more than 20 years.

Anthony Argiro has joined the Memphis Division of Highwoods Properties. Argiro will be responsible for new business development, securing prospective customers and maintaining long-term customer relationships in the Memphis market. Argiro has nine years of experience in the commercial real estate industry. He most recently served as director of leasing for Grace Construction.

Diane Leslie has been elected to the board of directors of the Mid-South Spay and Neuter Services. Leslie is a sales representative at Zila Pharmaceuticals.

Francine Miguel, Methodist North Hospital’s human resources director, has received the Paul Guy Mentorship award. Miguel received the award for her ability to serve as a role model, teacher and resource in her mentorship practices.

The Bartlett Education Foundation has presented the 2009 Distinguished Alumni Awards to Becky Smallwood Bowers and Malcolm Hawkins. Bowers and Hawkins were chosen for their “outstanding accomplishments, contributions and leadership in the Bartlett area community.”