» Subscribe Today!
More of what you want to know.
The Daily News

Forgot your password?
TDN Services
Research millions of people and properties [+]
Monitor any person, property or company [+]

Skip Navigation LinksHome >
VOL. 123 | NO. 187 | Wednesday, September 24, 2008

Landmark Community Bank Names Newell Chairman of Board

By Taylor Shoptaw

Print | Front Page | Email this story | Email reporter | Comments ()
Chuck Newell
Dr. Kevin Foley
Chad A. Naffziger
Denise D. Gabel-Comeau
David Schlappy
Gail Thurmond
Jerry Maliot
Kahala C. Cannon
Rasone T. Jones
Stephanie Conover

Chuck Newell has been elected chairman of the board of directors of Landmark Community Bank and will be based in Landmark’s Collierville branch.

Newell brings more than 28 years of banking experience to the board and currently serves as the president and CEO of Merchants and Planters Bancshares.

Ernest Withers has been recognized posthumously as the 2008 recipient of LeMoyne-Owen College’s Beacon of Hope Award. The award recognizes individuals and organizations that have enriched the college and the community through their service, generosity and scholarly contributions. Withers has been recognized for his documentation of the civil rights movement through his photographic work and books.

Dr. Kevin Foley has been appointed to the board of directors of TrueVision Systems Inc. Foley is a spine specialist and a leader in minimally invasive spine surgery as well as image-guided spinal navigation and spinal biomechanics research.

Chad A. Naffziger has joined Rainey, Kizer, Reviere & Bell PLC as an associate in its Jackson, Tenn., office. Naffziger’s practice focuses primarily in the areas of business and commercial law and insurance defense.

The 2008-2009 chapter officers for the Memphis Chapter of the International Association of Administrative Professionals have been named. They are Janice Ernest, president; Linda Guy, president-elect; Helen Meyer, vice president; Melissa Cook, recording secretary; Jennifer Thornton, corresponding secretary; Dianne Cordaro, treasurer; Mary Sellers, director; Rita Jackson, director; and Sharon Gardner, director.

Amber Beard has joined Crye-Leike Realtors as an affiliate broker in the company’s Arlington branch office. Beard specializes in residential real estate with a focus on new home construction.

Amy F. Dudek, Andre B. Mathis and Michael D. Tauer of Glankler Brown PLLC have been named members of the Leo Bearman Sr. American Inn of Court. The American Inns of Court are designed as a tutorial organization with the goal of improving the skills, professionalism and legal ethics of the bench and bar.

The board of directors for the Tennessee Center for Performance Excellence has named area residents to its 2008 Board of Examiners. They are Denise D. Gabel-Comeau, director of quality and performance excellence at Methodist South; David Schlappy, vice president of performance excellence at Methodist Le Bonheur Healthcare; and Gail Thurmond, chief medical officer and senior vice president of clinical effectiveness at Methodist Le Bonheur Healthcare. Jerry Maliot, chief quality officer at Methodist, was named to the board of directors.

archer>malmo has received the gold International Award of Excellence for its work on Smith & Nephew’s Journey Knee consumer public relations campaign. The Healthcare Communication & Marketing Association’s top honor is awarded to campaigns that utilize strategy, performance and creativity for effective health care marketing.

Dale H. Tuttle has been reappointed to a second six-year term to serve as a member of the Judicial Selection Commission for the state of Tennessee by speaker Jimmy Naifeh of the Tennessee House of Representatives. The Judicial Selection Commission interviews all applicants for judicial vacancies for all courts of record and recommends nominees to the governor of Tennessee.

Christ Community Health Services has expanded its staff with the addition of dentists Kahala C. Cannon and Rasone T. Jones and family nurse practitioner Stephanie Conover. Cannon previously practiced dentistry at Smith Wilson & Associates PC. Jones comes to Christ Community following his graduation from the University of Tennessee College of Dentistry, and Conover comes from New York University Medical Center.

Allen & Hoshall has expanded its engineering team with the hiring of Lamar Rutland, Sean Hilsdon, Adam Coats and Seth Rozell. Rutland and Hilsdon have joined as civil engineers and Coats and Rozell have joined as electrical engineers.

PROPERTY SALES 56 289 2,908
MORTGAGES 55 226 2,009
BUILDING PERMITS 108 1,002 6,703
BANKRUPTCIES 42 248 1,225