Head Selected as Director Of SWTCC Library

By Taylor Shoptaw

Carolyn Head

Shabnam Minhas

Phil Chamberlain

Robert Hughes

Hallie Long

Dan Murrell

Tommie Criswell-Jones

Carolyn Head has been selected to serve as executive director of Library Services for Southwest Tennessee Community College.

Head’s responsibilities include supervising a new $17 million library to open on the Macon Cove Campus this month. She managed and oversaw the development and evaluation of library operations and personnel services for the former Shelby State Community College Library as director from 1993 through 1997.

Shabnam Minhas has joined Crye-Leike Realtors Bartlett branch as an affiliate broker. Minhas is a licensed affiliate broker in Tennessee and assists buyers and sellers in all types of residential sales. She is a member of the Memphis Area Association of Realtors, Tennessee Association of Realtors and National Association of Realtors.

Phil Chamberlain has joined the Dunavant-Wellford Tennis Center at Memphis University School and Hutchison School as director. Chamberlain comes to MUS and Hutchison from The Racquet Club of Memphis where he served as director of tennis and junior development since 1978. He also had served as the tournament director of the Regions Morgan Keegan Championships and the Cellular South Cup since 2006.

Robert Hughes has joined Junior Achievement of Memphis and the Mid-South as development manager. Prior to the position, Hughes worked as a law clerk for Harris Shelton Hanover Walsh PLLC. Hallie Long has joined Junior Achievement as Exchange City manager. Prior to this position, she worked as an account executive at Pritchartt Publishing Co.

The National Black MBA Association Memphis Chapter has won the title of “Chapter of the Year.” The award was presented during the general membership meeting and breakfast at the NBMBAA Annual Conference and Exposition in Washington.

Sixteen attorneys from Glankler Brown PLLC have been selected by their peers for inclusion in the 2009 edition of “The Best Lawyers in America.” They are Louis F. Allen, Saul C. Belz, John David Blaylock, William L. Bomar, R. Grattan Brown Jr., Oscar C. Carr III, Lee J. Chase III, B. Douglas Earthman, Charles W. Hill, R. Hunter Humphreys, Robert L. Hutton, William T. Mays Jr., George J. Nassar Jr., J. William Pierce Jr., Douglas P. Quay and C. Barry Ward.

Lisa Bayorek recently was honored at AtHome America’s annual sales convention. Bayorek was recognized for demonstrating extraordinary success in leading, training and motivating, and for being the top recruiter for the year.

Hayden Lait has been selected for inclusion in the 2009 edition of “The Best Lawyers in America” in the specialty of Alternate Dispute Resolution. It’s the fifth consecutive year Lait has been chosen for the honor. Lait also serves as chair of the Tennessee ADR Commission and as an adjunct professor at the University of Memphis law school.

New Direction Christian Church has been named overall best church choir in Memphis during the regional competition of Verizon Wireless’ “How Sweet The Sound” tour held last month at FedExForum. New Direction will advance to perform in the grand finale Saturday in Atlanta to compete for a cash prize of up to $30,000 and the title of best church choir in America.

Dan Murrell has been named Outstanding Fundraising Executive by the Memphis chapter of the Association of Fundraising Professionals. Murrell has more than 11 years of fundraising experience, previously serving as director of development for the Community Foundation of Greater Memphis. He currently serves as director of planned giving for the University of Memphis.

Westminster Academy has added 11 faculty members and one staff member. They are Gil Brandon, Jennifer Brandon, Sharon McAllister, Mary Karen Dixon, Harvey Kay, Grey Kinney, Kim Jorgensen, Sue Massee, Annie Petzinger, Elizabeth Peckham and Jessica Watson.

Tommie Criswell-Jones of Crye-Leike Realtors has earned her professional real estate designation as a Seller Representative Specialist. Criswell-Jones is the managing broker at the Collierville branch. She is licensed in both Tennessee and Mississippi.