» Subscribe Today!
More of what you want to know.
The Daily News

Forgot your password?
TDN Services
Research millions of people and properties [+]
Monitor any person, property or company [+]

Skip Navigation LinksHome >
VOL. 122 | NO. 217 | Wednesday, November 14, 2007

Jones Receives Welcome Home Memphis Designation

Print | Front Page | Email this story | Comments ()
Phil Maness
J. Brook Lathram
Emily T. Brackstone
William Parks
Stacie Waddell
Richard Glassman
C. Lauren Jones

Crye-Leike affiliate broker C. Lauren Jones was the first Realtor in the Memphis market to receive the Welcome Home Memphis designation when she recently earned the honor.

The designation recently was created by the Memphis Area Association of Realtors and is designed to increase affordable housing expertise.

In addition to the WHM designation, Jones also has received the Accredited Buyer's Representative designation, is a graduate of the Realtor Institute and has earned the Certified Relocation Assistant designation.

Richard Glassman, president of Glassman, Edwards, Wade & Wyatt PC, has been chosen for inclusion in 2008's The Best Lawyers in America for the 11th year. Glassman focuses on the defense of legal malpractice claims.

The Thomas W. Briggs Foundation has honored Memphis Symphony Orchestra music director and conductor David Loebel with the Thomas W. Briggs Community Service Award. The foundation made a $25,000 donation to the symphony in Loebel's honor. Under Loebel's leadership, the MSO has been honored four times by the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers and the American Symphony Orchestra League.

MPACT Memphis has given out its MPACT Maker Awards in key areas of civic and professional involvement. The awards and winners are Arts and Culture Promotion, Jackie Nichols of Playhouse on the Square; Business Achievement, Darrell Cobbins, CEO of Universal Commercial Real Estate; Community Involvement, Stacie Waddell of Girls Inc.; Educational Achievement, Dr. Kia Young Tate, principal of Star Academy; Political Achievement, Shelby County Commissioner Mike Carpenter; Newcomer of the Year, Brad Leon, executive director of Teach for America; Organization of the Year, Memphis Bioworks Foundation; and Role Model of the Year, Teresa Sloyan, executive director, Hyde Family Foundations.

William Parks has joined the law firm of Wyatt, Tarrant & Combs LLP. Parks concentrates his practice in the area of intellectual property. He is a former patent examiner for the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office and Division Patent Counsel for Milliken & Co.

The Memphis Small Business Chamber of Commerce has named its annual award winners. Ductz Indoor Air Professionals received the Emerging Business of the Year Award. David Altizer, marketing vice president of SOS Systems Inc., received the Volunteer of the Year Award. Austin Baker, president of E-Serv LLC, won the Small Business of the Year Award. And Danny Patterson, a sales representative for E-Serv, received the Dennis Beatty Founders Award.

Burch, Porter & Johnson PLLC has hired Anica C. Conner, Mary C. Hamm, Emily T. Brackstone,
Matthew J. Lammel
and David E. McKinney as associates.

Six lawyers with Burch, Porter & Johnson PLLC have been included among "The Best 150 Lawyers in Tennessee" in the January 2008
issue of Business Tennessee: Nathan A. Bicks, C. Thomas Cates, W.J. Michael Cody, Jef Feibelman,
J. Brook Lathram
and Charles F. Newman.

Crye-Leike Realtors Commercial Affiliate Broker Eric Fuhrman has received the Certified Commercial Investment Member designation, which recognizes experts in the disciplines of commercial and investment real estate. Fuhrman has worked in commercial real estate for more than three years.

The Metropolitan Inter-Faith Association has hired five staff members: David George as a creative graphic specialist; Cynthia M. Moore as a senior accountant; Thomas Howard Robinson Jr. as the congregational outreach coordinator; Ellen Whitten as a public relations specialist; and
Anna Kathryn Ward as a development officer.

The Realtors Commercial Alliance, the commercial division of the National Association of Realtors, has awarded Brad Kornegay of Colliers Management Services the 2007 Realtors Commercial Alliance National Award. Kornegay is the president and CEO of Colliers. He previously spent 12 years with Trammell Crow Co.

Phil Maness, executive vice president of national accounts at First Mercantile Bank, has earned the Accredited Investment Fiduciary designation from the Center for Fiduciary Studies. The designation signifies training in fiduciary responsibility.

Askew Hargraves Harcourt & Associates Inc. (A2H) has hired Travis Klima as an entry-level structural engineering intern. Klima received a bachelor's degree in aerospace engineering with a minor in mathematics from Mississippi State University in 2004.

PROPERTY SALES 83 317 13,368
MORTGAGES 56 208 8,379
BUILDING PERMITS 361 518 31,196
BANKRUPTCIES 34 113 6,333