Baker Donelson Names Roberts Pro Bono Attorney of the Year

Wednesday, May 30, 2007, Vol. 122, No. 99

Eddie Felsenthal

Mike Cunningham

Audrey Grossman

Dr. Jon H. Robertson

Kristine L. Roberts

Baker, Donelson, Bearman, Caldwell & Berkowitz PC has named Kristine L. Roberts its Memphis Pro Bono Attorney of the Year. Roberts was honored for her work as a volunteer with the Attorney of the Day Courthouse Advice Clinic at the Shelby County Courthouse. She also is handling a case for Memphis Area Legal Services. Roberts serves on the Access to Justice Committee of the Memphis Bar Association and volunteers as a judge for educational mock trial events.

The Honorable Howard H. Baker Jr. has received the first honorary degree ever conferred by the University of Tennessee Health Science Center. Baker was given the doctorate of healthcare leadership. Baker is a former U.S. senator and was both minority and majority leader during his senatorial career. He was vice chairman of the Senate Watergate Committee in 1973 and was the U.S. ambassador to Japan from 2001 to 2005. He earned the 1984 Presidential Medal of Freedom and the Jefferson Award for Greatest Public Service Performed by an Elected Official.

Dr. Jon H. Robertson, a neurosurgeon at Methodist Healthcare and Semmes-Murphey Neurologic & Spine Institute, was named president of the American Association of Neurological Surgeons (AANS). Robertson is a professor and chair of the Department of Neurosurgery at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center. He has been an active member of AANS since 1983.

Rhodes College senior David Lane has been selected as a Fulbright student grantee to Germany. He will spend a year in Saxony, Germany, teaching second languages at the high school level.

The Memphis and Shelby County Optimist Respect for the Law Committee named Shelby County Sheriff's deputy Charles Crossley its Officer of the Year. Crossley has spent seven years in the traffic bureau of the Sheriff's office. He is responsible for developing the Motorcycle Squad Instructor's Manual.

Rhodes College has been ranked third among the nation's private liberal arts colleges named as top value schools by Consumers Digest magazine. One hundred colleges and universities made the ranking list out of about 3,800 in the United States. The rankings will be published in the June issue of the magazine.

Audrey Grossman, an associate at Harris Shelton Hanover Walsh PLLC, has been appointed to the Memphis Jewish Home board of directors. Grossman practices in the areas of estate planning, probate and elder, and entertainment law. She received a juris doctorate in 1995 from Harvard Law School, where she graduated cum laude.

The Tennessee Center for Nursing has selected three nurses to participate in the third annual Tennessee Leadership Institute for Nursing Excellence. Elizabeth Zacher and Ginny Metheny, both nurses at Baptist Memorial Hospital-Memphis, and James Tetleton, a nurse at Baptist Memorial Hospital-Lauderdale, were chosen.

Blake Elliott, vice president of commercial banking at Regions Bank, has been elected president of the Phoenix Club for the 2007-2008 fundraising year. The Phoenix Club is a civic/social organization and benefactor of the Boys & Girls Club of Greater Memphis.

Lacey Ralph has been named marketing assistant at Memphis Area Teachers' Credit Union. Ralph received a bachelor's degree in psychology from the University of Tennessee at Knoxville.

Dr. Mauricio Cafiero, assistant professor of chemistry at Rhodes College, has received a $48,914 grant to fund research of computational models of proteins. The grant is from Research Corp., a private operating foundation for the advancement of science. The funding is guaranteed for two years.

The following Strategic Financial Partners associates have qualified for the 2007 Leaders Conference: Joel Bell, Jerry Corless, Charles Emerson, Walter Grant, Cooper Miles and Stephen Miles. Also, Mike Cunningham has qualified for the Masters Conference. In addition, four associates have qualified for the Chairman's Council Conference as well as the Masters Conference: Gary Frazier, Mike Lane, Fred Schaeffer Jr. and Eddie Felsenthal.

The law firm of Adams and Reese LLP has been named by American Lawyer Media (ALM) a "Go To" law firm for financial services companies. ALM also included Adams and Reese on its list of the nation's top 200 firms.