» Subscribe Today!
More of what you want to know.
The Daily News

Forgot your password?
TDN Services
Research millions of people and properties [+]
Monitor any person, property or company [+]

Skip Navigation LinksHome >
VOL. 121 | NO. 195 | Wednesday, October 4, 2006

Prestidge Chosen to Head Kroger Delta Division

Print | Front Page | Email this story | Comments ()
Connie Buchanan
Terri McKenzie
Keith Mattila
Meghan Carr
Mark Prestidge

Mark Prestidge has been promoted to president of The Kroger Co.'s Delta Division. The Delta Division is based in Memphis and includes 111 Kroger stores in Arkansas, Kentucky, Mississippi, Missouri and Tennessee. Prestidge succeeds Richard Tillman, who recently announced his retirement after a 42-year career with Kroger. Prestidge previously served as vice president of operations for Kroger's Southwest Division.

Ballet Memphis choreographer Adam Hougland has been chosen by Princess Grace Foundation-USA to receive one of the 2006 Princess Grace Awards. The awards are presented for theater, dance and film and are named in honor of Princess Grace of Monaco, who during her life helped aspiring artists pursue their goals. The awards will be presented at an awards gala Nov. 2 in New York.

University of Tennessee Health Science Center (UTHSC) alumni who have received 2006 College of Medicine Outstanding Alumni awards are Dr. S. Terrence Canale, Dr. Edwin W. Cocke Jr., Dr. Alan S. Gubin and Dr. George W. Hansberry. Canale is chairman of the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery and the Harold B. Boyd Professor of Orthopaedics at UTHSC. Cocke is a clinical professor otolaryngology at UTHSC. Gubin is a full-time pediatrician and family practice physician in Carruthersville, Mo. Hansberry retired from private practice in 2005 and is a member of the UTHSC College of Medicine Alumni Council.

Judy Ringel has received the Bob James Award from Memphis Regional Planned Parenthood (MRPP). The award honors an individual who shows unwavering support of the ideals of MRPP. Ringel, formerly associate publisher of Memphis magazine, served on MRPP's board of directors for six years, serving as chair from 1995 to 1997.

Harry Travis has been named executive in residence for the Memphis Bioworks Foundation. Travis is the former chief operating officer of the Nova Factor Division of Accredo Health. In his new role, Travis will help the foundation develop targeted, results-driven initiatives to attract new companies to the Memphis area.

Meghan Carr has been named program coordinator for Leadership Memphis. Carr previously worked at the Memphis Zoo for five and a half years, conducting research on the behavior and ecology of giant pandas.

Keith Mattila has joined advertising, marketing, design and public relations firm inferno as an interactive manager. In his new role, Mattila will be responsible for the development and oversight of interactive Web and new media initiatives for a range of agency clients.

Connie White, a librarian at Georgian Hills Elementary School, is the August winner of the Memphis Area Teachers' Credit Union's One Class at a Time grant. The $500 grant will be used to purchase a puppet stage and three 29-inch puppets for what White calls "Poetry, Prose and Puppets." The program is designed to allow fifth- and sixth-graders to write and perform original skits for their peers and parents.

Rene Parson has joined Cricket Communications as an area general manager.

David "Tony" Newbury has joined the Southaven office of Pickering Inc. as a senior civil designer. Terri McKenzie has joined as an administrative assistant.

The following people from Weichert REALTORS-Chapman & Associates have graduated from the Weichert Fast Track training sessions: Julie Holmes, Nancy Toms, Debbi Scruggs, Carolyn Smith, Tim Kemp, Larry Ohrberg, Erik Moore, Tiffany Yarbrough, Corey Davis, Amy Coleman, Ashley Sutherland, Jim McDonnell, Nichole Thomas, Briscoe Ellett and LaSonya Graham.

The following Thomason, Hendrix, Harvey, Johnson & Mitchell PLLC attorneys have been selected for inclusion in The Best Lawyers 2007 edition: Albert Harvey, Kimbrough Johnson, Jerry Mitchell, Kemper Durand and Rehim Babaoglu.

The following people have joined the Memphis office of Smith Seckman Reid Ellers Inc. (SSR Ellers Inc.): Saunders Ramsey, transportation engineer; Michael C. LaMontain, electrical engineer; and Mark Randall, technician.

Stephanie M. Wise has joined Ison & Decosimo CPAs as a tax accountant.

Connie Buchanan has joined Signature Advertising as executive administrative assistant. She previously was executive administrative assistant at Clear Channel Radio in Nashville for six years

PROPERTY SALES 91 293 13,051
MORTGAGES 58 168 8,171
BUILDING PERMITS 99 744 30,678
BANKRUPTCIES 34 156 6,220