» Subscribe Today!
More of what you want to know.
The Daily News

Forgot your password?
Skip Navigation LinksHome >
VOL. 121 | NO. 147 | Wednesday, July 26, 2006

Schwartzberg Named Professional of the Year

Print | Front Page | Email this story | Comments ()
Dr. Dianna Johnson
Laurie Smith
Dr. F. Michael Lachina
Hallie Conaway
Richard Busby
Dr. Lee S. Schwartzberg

Dr. Lee S. Schwartzberg has been named Professional of the Year for the field of hematology and oncology in Strathmore Inc.'s 2006-2007 Who's Who, a national registry honoring successful leaders in the fields of business, the arts and sciences, law, engineering and government. Schwartzberg is a senior partner and medical director for The West Clinic. He also serves as director of the Baptist Centers for Cancer Care Stem Cell Transplant Program and the Cancer Genetics Program.

Olin F. Morris has been re-elected to the national Muscular Dystrophy Association's board of directors. He was elected at MDA's recent annual meeting in Los Angeles to a new one-year term as a voluntary leader of the association. Morris is former senior vice president of the New York Times Broadcast Group, which owns and operates WREG-TV Channel 3.

Richard Busby has been named vice president and senior community development officer for Wachovia Corp.'s North/Central Alabama and Tennessee regions. Busby will oversee the company's community development programs in each area, which includes Memphis. He has more than 22 years of experience in the financial industry and most recently served as a vice president of business banking for AmSouth Bank in Birmingham, Ala.

The Institute of Management Accountants-Memphis chapter has been awarded second place in the 87th IMA Annual National Competition for large chapters for 2005-2006. This is the third consecutive year the Memphis chapter has received the award.

Hallie Conaway has been named president of the Memphis Advertising Federation for the 2006-2007 term. Conaway is the associate creative director for the Conaway Brown advertising and marketing agency.

Mark Medford has been named president of FTN Financial. He succeeds Jim Hughes, who will retire Dec. 31. Medford joined FTN Financial in November 2001. Before that, he was managing partner of KPMG LLP. FTN Financial is headquartered in Memphis.

Dr. F. Michael Lachina has been named chief medical officer at St. Francis Hospital. Lachina previously served as senior vice president and chief medical officer at FirstHealth of the Carolinas in Pinehurst, N.C. He also served as medical director at Baptist Health System of East Tennessee, vice president of The Children's Hospital of Birmingham and IPA medical director at the Simon-Williamson Clinic in Birmingham.

Laurie Smith recently was named the NovaCopy Salesperson of the Month for June. She received the award because she had the highest volume of sales in the Memphis office.

Baptist Memorial Hospital for Women recently was awarded a Citation of Merit by the American Hospital Association as part of its Quest for Quality prize. Baptist was one of only three hospitals in the United States recognized by AHA for its quality efforts. The Quest for Quality prize honors organizations that are committed to enhancing quality of care, patient-centeredness, effectiveness, efficiency, timeliness and equity as the basis of a comprehensive, quality-oriented health care system.

Memphians Tiffany Fluellen and Kristen Williams were among 19 Governors Ambassadors selected to represent Austin Peay State University at official APSU functions during the 2006-2007 academic year. Fluellen and Williams both sophomores at APSU. Fluellen is a broadcasting major. Williams is a health and human performance major.

Dr. Cheryl R. Scheid has been appointed vice chancellor for academic, faculty and student affairs at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center (UTHSC). Dr. Dianna A. Johnson will report to her as the new associate vice chancellor for faculty and student retention. Scheid previously was interim provost and vice chancellor for faculty and administration, as well as professor of physiology and surgery for the University of Massachusetts Medical School in Worchester, Mass. Johnson has been the assistant dean for faculty affairs at UTHSC since 2002.

Sign-Up For Our Free Email Edition
Get the news first with our daily email

Blog News, Training & Events
PROPERTY SALES 98 238 15,862
MORTGAGES 122 284 18,332
BUILDING PERMITS 137 452 32,966
BANKRUPTCIES 62 178 10,191

Weekly Edition

Issues | About

The Memphis News: Business, politics, and the public interest.