» Subscribe Today!
More of what you want to know.
The Daily News

Forgot your password?
TDN Services
Research millions of people and properties [+]
Monitor any person, property or company [+]

Skip Navigation LinksHome >
VOL. 121 | NO. 235 | Wednesday, December 6, 2006

Braverman Joins The West Clinic

Print | Front Page | Email this story | Comments ()
Herman Morris Jr.
John Speed Orr
Adam B. Beckman
Dr. Aliza Braverman

Dr. Aliza Braverman has joined The West Clinic as a rheumatology specialist. She is the first rheumatologist to join the team.

Mike Jackson has been named president and CEO of Memphis-based Verso Paper Holdings LLC. He succeeds LH Puckett, who is retiring but will remain a member of the board of directors. Jackson previously served as a senior vice president at Weyerhaeuser Co. in Federal Way, Wash. He was with the company for 29 years.

Andrea B. Johnson has joined Watkins Uiberall PLLC in its Health Care Consulting Group. She is a certified coding specialist-physician from the American Health Information Management Association (AHIMA). Johnson has more than five years of health care experience.

Adam B. Beckman has joined the Bradley Law Firm PLLC as an associate attorney. He is a recent graduate of the University of Alabama School of Law.

Sheri Henderson has been named director of health information management at Methodist University Hospital. She began her career at Methodist in 1997. She is a registered health information administrator (RHIA) and is an active member of both the local and state Health Information Management associations.

John Speed Orr has received an emerging-artist grant from the Greater Memphis Arts Council. The award is given to a rising artist in the city to fund his or her career through training, study or other professional development. Orr is a trainee at Ballet Memphis. Before joining Ballet Memphis, he worked at Dance Theatre Seven in Marin County, Calif.

Phil Chamberlain, principal of Chamberlain & McCreery, has been awarded the 2006 Builder of the Year Award by the Home Builders Association of Tennessee (HBAT). Chamberlain is the past president of the Memphis Area Home Builders Association, serving in 2002 as chairman of the membership committee and as 2006-2007 board president of Habitat for Humanity of Greater Memphis.

Circuit Court Judge Robert L. Childers, who presides over the 30th Judicial District, has been reappointed to the American Bar Association Commission on Lawyer Assistance Programs, which was created to help lawyers and other legal professionals with addictions, mental health issues and other personal problems that have an effect on their ability to practice law. Childers has served on the commission or its advisory commission since 2000.

Solo practitioner Herman Morris Jr. has been awarded the Ben F. Jones chapter of the National Bar Association 2006 Presidential Award for Outstanding Service. Morris chaired the National Bar Association's Judicial Evaluation Committee during this year's judicial elections. Morris, the former president and CEO of Memphis Light, Gas & Water Division, also recently was selected for inclusion in the 2007 edition of The Best Lawyers in America.

H. Michael Wiegert has been elected president of the Memphis chapter of the Mortgage Bankers Association. Pam Tucker was named president elect. Chris Bowers was named vice president and Meribeth LaBarreare was named secretary/treasurer.

Methodist Le Bonheur Healthcare has received the Corporation of the Year Award from the Mid-South Minority Business Council.

Jason Little has been named administrator and CEO of Baptist Memorial Hospital-Memphis. He previously served as administrator and CEO of Baptist Memorial Hospital-Golden Triangle in Columbus, Miss. Johnny Stanford has been named assistant administrator. He also serves as administrator of clinical services.

The Germantown Performing Arts Centre has announced the following new board members: Rosetta "Joey" Beckford, Antony Francis, Dorothy Kirsch, Charles McGraw and Milton Schaeffer. Returning board members include Hank Akers, president; Karen Fields-Isaacman, first vice president; Jerry Kronenberg, second vice president; William H. Watkins, treasurer; Patrick Lawton, secretary; members David Baytos, Alexander Ertz, Sondra Goldstein, Carole Hinely, Bettye Speake; and Kathy Pascover, GPAC Guild president.

PROPERTY SALES 28 290 16,197
MORTGAGES 33 165 10,087
BUILDING PERMITS 184 608 38,544
BANKRUPTCIES 33 125 7,597