» Subscribe Today!
More of what you want to know.
The Daily News

Forgot your password?
TDN Services
Research millions of people and properties [+]
Monitor any person, property or company [+]

Skip Navigation LinksHome >
VOL. 121 | NO. 249 | Wednesday, December 27, 2006

Gwaltney to Head Senior Housing Crime Prevention Foundation

Print | Front Page | Email this story | Comments ()
Dr. Loretta Jackson Hayes
Dr. James Dale
DeWitt M. Shy
Barry Marshall
Peter K. Gwaltney

Peter K. Gwaltney will join the Senior Housing Crime Prevention Foundation as chief executive officer and as vice chairman of the board of directors, effective Jan. 1. He has served as the CEO of the Louisiana Bankers Association since 1999. He also has served on numerous boards at the state and national level, including the American Bankers Insurance Association board of directors, the American Bankers Professional and Fidelity Insurance Association board of directors.

Barry Marshall was named administrator of cardiovascular services at Methodist University Hospital. He also will continue to serve as the administrator of the Transplant Institute at Methodist University Hospital. Marshall has been with Methodist since 2004. Prior to joining Methodist, he was the administrator of transplant services at Health Alliance of Greater Cincinnati; senior consultant for Transplant Management Group and director of Transplant Services and Managed Care at the Health Alliance of Greater Cincinnati.

Scott J. Crosby, Les Jones, Lisa A. Krupicka, Allen Malone, Charles F. Newman, R. Michael Potter, W. Rowlett Scott and DeWitt M. Shy Jr. have been named among Tennessee's 2006 Super Lawyers. The listing was printed in the December issue of Mid-South Super Lawyers. All are attorneys at Burch, Porter & Johnson PLLC.

Dr. James B. Dale has been named to the Gene H. Stollerman Endowed Professorship in Medicine at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center (UTHSC). The Stollerman Professorship was created in 2004 to honor its namesake, a world-renowned physician, scientist and teacher with whom Dale began his career in 1977. Dale currently is chief of infectious diseases at UTHSC and associate chief of staff for education at the VA Medical Center in Memphis.

Dr. Loretta Jackson-Hayes has received a $55,142 Cottrell College Science Award grant to support research focusing on genes involved in fungal cell wall metabolism. Hayes is an assistant professor of chemistry at Rhodes College. The grant, which will provide stipends for more than two years beginning in June, is from Research Corp., a private operating foundation for the advancement of science. Hayes joined Rhodes in 2003.

Dr. Roger W. Meier, an associate professor in the department of civil engineering at the University of Memphis, has received the Peter G. Hoadley Award for Outstanding Engineering Educator from the Tennessee section of the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE). The award is given annually to an engineering educator in the Tennessee section of the organization who has made contributions to the society at national, section or branch levels. Meier is the treasurer and past president of the ASCE West Tennessee branch and is the faculty adviser to the U of M ASCE student chapter.

Tactical Magic was named one of the top winners of the 2006 MarCom Awards announced by the Association of Marketing and Communication Professionals. Tactical Magic received a platinum award for an Eyewear Gallery billboard created for the Memphis-based business of the same name; the platinum award for "Lunar Logo" created for Memphis-based Lunar Productions; and a gold award for "Open/Wide Open," created for the Memphis company Fulmer Helmets. MarCom Creative Awards is an international competition for marketing and communication professionals.

PROPERTY SALES 94 322 4,193
MORTGAGES 95 320 4,710
BANKRUPTCIES 48 211 3,096