» Subscribe Today!
More of what you want to know.
The Daily News

Forgot your password?
TDN Services
Research millions of people and properties [+]
Monitor any person, property or company [+]

Skip Navigation LinksHome >
VOL. 120 | NO. 74 | Wednesday, April 5, 2006

Jones and Colleagues Receive LEED Accreditation from Green Building Council

Print | Front Page | Email this story | Comments ()
Dr. James H. Beaty
T. Gaillard "Gil" Uhlhorn
Michael Grey Jones

Michael Grey Jones, Chris Root and Karen Cauthen have received LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) accreditation. Jones is an architect for Johnson Bailey Henderson NcNeel Architects, and Root and Cauthen are architectural interns. Created by the U.S. Green Building Council, the LEED Green Building Rating System is a voluntary, consensus-based national standard for developing high-performance, sustainable buildings.

William Sherman Morris and T. Gaillard "Gil" Uhlhorn have joined Bass, Berry & Sims PLC. Morris rejoins the firm after practicing as senior corporate counsel at Smith & Nephew Inc. He received a law degree from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Law in 2001. Uhlhorn previously practiced at Glankler Brown PLLC. He received a law degree from the University of Tennessee's College of Law in Knoxville in 2000.

Peggy Love-Atkins has been promoted to vice president/consultant at Lee Hecht Harrison. She joined the company in 2003 as a certified associate. Prior to that she served as the workforce development specialist for the City of Memphis' Special Division Workforce Investment Network.

RE/MAX Regional Services has named Thomas Marchbanks its No. 1 real estate agent for 2005. Marchbanks is a real estate broker for RE/MAX Elite of Memphis.

Lisa Sullivan has joined the staff of the Memphis campus of the University of Phoenix as director of enrollment.

The Memphis/Shelby County Domestic Violence Council has announced the following new officers for its board of directors: Heidi Verbeek, chair; Barbara King, co-chair; Angela Strayhorn, secretary; and Elizabeth Shelley, treasurer.

Dr. Alan Jaslow, associate professor of biology, has been named the director of health professions advising at Rhodes College. Jaslow has been with Rhodes since 1984. Before that he was a National Institutes of Health post doctoral fellow in the University of Chicago's Department of Anatomy and Organismal Biology.

Maurice Wexler, a shareholder with Baker, Donelson, Bearman, Caldwell & Berkowitz PC, has been honored by the Equal Employment Opportunity Committee of the American Bar Association's Section of Labor & Employment for his civil rights work. Wexler has practiced with Baker Donelson since 1964.

The Memphis Public Library & Information Center's Health Information Center has been selected for the 2006 National Commission on Libraries and Information Science (NCLIS) Health Information Award for libraries. The award is designed to encourage library programs that address dietary choices, exercise, smoking cessation and ending alcohol or drug abuse.

The American Council of Engineering Companies of Tennessee has presented its Honor Award for Structural Systems to Askew Hargraves Harcourt & Associates Inc. EnSafe Inc. received the Honor Award for Environmental Engineering.

Dr. James H. Beaty has been elected as the first vice president to the board of directors of the American Academy of Orthopedic Surgeons. Beaty currently serves as surgeon and chief of staff for Campbell Clinic Orthopedics.

PROPERTY SALES 97 418 8,253
MORTGAGES 112 508 9,293
BUILDING PERMITS 194 1,059 18,126
BANKRUPTCIES 46 208 5,367