» Subscribe Today!
More of what you want to know.
The Daily News

Forgot your password?
TDN Services
Research millions of people and properties [+]
Monitor any person, property or company [+]

Skip Navigation LinksHome >
VOL. 119 | NO. 191 | Wednesday, October 19, 2005

Memphis Theological Seminary Installs New Dean

Print | Front Page | Email this story | Comments ()
Julie A. Yancey
Bob Land
Tal Goldsby
Barbara A. Holmes

The board of trustees of Memphis Theological Seminary installed Dr. Barbara A. Holmes as vice president of academic affairs/dean of the seminary. Holmes joined MTS as a faculty member in the ethics and African-American religious studies programs in 1998. She earned a bachelor's degree from the University of Connecticut and a master's degree from Southern Connecticut University.

Christian Brothers University School of Business announced the following members of its newly formed dean's advisory council: Amit Bhandari, Henry L. Brenner, Ben C. Bryant Jr., Stephen Dunavant, David Farmer, Tom Fehrmann, Mark R. Giannini, Richard Hackett, Ross Harris, Dr. Dianna Johnson, Melvin Jones, Chris Kelley, Steve Lawrence and advisory council chair Brian Splan.

Tal Goldsby earned the Certified Senior Advisor designation. Goldsby is a financial adviser with Shoemaker Financial.

Armstrong Allen PLLC announced that the following attorneys were selected by their peers for inclusion in The Best Lawyers in America 2006: Lucian T. Pera, Thomas R. Prewitt Jr., W. Rowlett Scott, Henry C. Shelton and Joseph B. Walker.

Signature Advertising announced the hiring of Taylor Grisham and Richard Membreno as account coordinators and Daniel Blair as associate art director.

PSI Memphis announced that Julie Owen joined its staff as a geologist. Owen is a graduate of the University of Memphis.

Askew Nixon Ferguson Architects announced that Bob Land, senior project manager, passed the qualifying exams to receive his Tennessee Architectural License. Land has been with ANFA for nearly 12 years. He graduated from the University of Memphis in 1993.

Tennessee Gov. Phil Bredesen announced the following local appointments to state boards and commissions: Kevin R. Lofton, State Rehabilitation Council; L. Allen Exelbierd, Tennessee Commission on Holocaust Education; and William Stuart Howard Sr., Tennessee Council for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing.

Rachel Krantz joined Memphis University School's advancement office as director of the annual fund. She earned a bachelor's degree from the University of Kansas and has been a member of the board of the Memphis Jewish Community Center for 17 years.

Jane Van Deren, corporate director of associate services and human resource information systems for Methodist Healthcare, was asked to participate on the Wells Fargo Client Advisory Board.

Junior Achievement of Memphis and the Mid-South elected the following individuals as officers of its board of directors for 2005-2006: Mary Bowen, chairman; Jim Perrin, president; Beverly Gates, corporate secretary; David C. Forell, treasurer; Jake Mickens, vice chairman of programs; James E. Holthouser, vice chairman of special events and marketing; Nick Ringel, vice chairman of funding; Scott Messmore, past chairman; and Michael L. Ducker, national board representative.

Julie A. Yancey joined Butler, Snow, O'Mara, Stevens & Cannada PLLC as director of human resources. Yancey formerly served as director of recruiting, training and support for FedEx Corporate Services. She earned a bachelor's degree from the University of Memphis and a master's degree from Christian Brothers University.

PROPERTY SALES 42 266 3,343
MORTGAGES 12 152 2,252
BUILDING PERMITS 429 905 7,956
BANKRUPTCIES 41 130 1,872