» Subscribe Today!
More of what you want to know.
The Daily News

Forgot your password?
TDN Services
Research millions of people and properties [+]
Monitor any person, property or company [+]

Skip Navigation LinksHome >
VOL. 119 | NO. 157 | Wednesday, August 31, 2005

Askew Named National Director of Engineering Group

Print | Front Page | Email this story | Comments ()
David R. Richardson
Emily Campbell Taube
Johnny Pitts
Steve Mosher
Mark W. Askew

Mark W. Askew, president of Askew Hargraves Harcourt & Associates Inc., was appointed to a two-year term as national director of the American Council of Engineering Cos. of Tennessee. Askew is a civil engineer with 30 years of structural engineering experience.

The Memphis chapter of the Construction Specifications Institute presented Carl E. Drennan Jr. the Donald W. Manley award, the chapter's highest award, at the organization's annual banquet. Drennan, senior vice president of John J. Campbell Roofing Co. Inc., received the award for 25 years of service to the chapter.

Emily Campbell Taube joined Armstrong Allen PLLC as an associate attorney. Taube previously served as a felony assistant for the Shelby County District Attorney's Office. She also served as a legal adviser to the Memphis Police Department's Robbery Bureau. Taube earned a law degree from the University of Memphis.

Youth Villages announced the following members of its board of directors: Jim Barton Jr., vice president of Southeastern Asset Management; H. Eric Bolton Jr., chairman/CEO of Mid-America Apartment Communities; Nick Clark, partner of Clark & Clark; Laura Pendergest, chief investment officer of the Stanford Financial Group of affiliated companies; and Todd Watson, vice president of Armstrong Relocation. Mike Bruns, founder and president of Comtrak Logistics, was named chairman of the board.

Johnny Pitts was elected to serve on the Assurex Global Board of Directors. Pitts is a majority owner and chief manager of Lipscomb & Pitts Insurance.

Glankler Brown PLLC announced that Saul C. Belz, Louis F. Allen, Douglas P. Quay, John David Blaylock, R. Grattan Brown Jr., Oscar C. Carr III, Lee James Chase III, Frank J. Glankler Jr., William T. Mays Jr., C. Barry Ward and George J. Nassar Jr. were selected for inclusion in The Best Attorneys Network.

Dr. David Reynolds Richardson joined Campbell Clinic as an orthopedic surgeon. Richardson is a graduate of East Tennessee State University and Quillen College of Medicine. He has volunteered as a surgery assistant in Eku, Nigeria, and provided primary care to the Zuni Native American Indian tribe.

Two University of Memphis professors recently were named Fulbright Scholars. Assistant professor of anthology Dr. Jane Henrici was awarded a Fulbright grant to conduct research in Peru. Dr. Erin Martz, assistant professor in rehabilitation counseling, was awarded a Fulbright grant to conduct research in Russia.

Smith Engineers, a division of Pickering Inc., announced that principal engineer Steve Mosher will serve as project manager for its Southaven transportation design efforts. Mosher previously worked in the company's Memphis headquarters. He graduated from the University of Memphis.

PROPERTY SALES 68 162 2,781
MORTGAGES 60 97 1,880
BUILDING PERMITS 148 769 6,470
BANKRUPTCIES 61 172 1,149