Wednesday, June 9, 2004, Vol. 118, No. 101

Timm Locke, president of Locke Marketing Public Relations, was named new executive vice president of NOFMA: The Wood Flooring

Askew Appointed to AIA Fellows Jury

Lee Askew III, partner and founder of Askew Nixon Ferguson Architects, was appointed to the Fellows Jury for the American Institute of Architects. Askew has been a practicing architect in Memphis for 29 years. Timm Locke, president of Locke Marketing Public Relations, was named executive vice president of NOFMA: The Wood Flooring Manufacturing Association. Locke was marketing and public relations consultant for NOFMA for six years. Mark B. Carlson joined Baker, Donelson, Bearman, Caldwell & Berkowitz PC as an associate. Carlson concentrates his practice in the areas of mergers and acquisitions and securities law. He received a bachelors degree from Dartmouth College and a law degree from Harvard Law School. Baptist Rehabilitation-Germantown announced the following nursing award recipients: Rhonda Glissen, overall excellence award; Ruth Reyes, education; Kim Rutheledge, practice; and Teresa Malone, leadership. Terry W. McEwen was elected to the board of trustees of the International Council of Shopping Centers. McEwen is president of Poag & McEwen Lifestyle Centers.

  Charles Smith joined Johnson Bailey Henderson McNeel Architects as construction administrator. Smith previously was construction superintendent with Roy Anderson Corp. He attended Mississippi State University. The Greater Memphis Association for Quality announced the following winners of the 2004 GMAQ awards: Porter-Leath Childrens Center and the University of Memphis Physical Plant, Level III-Quality Leadership and the Pyramid of Excellence; the University of Memphis Business and Finance Technology, the University of Memphis Campus School and the University of Memphis Department of Public Safety, Level II-Quality Progress; and the University of Memphis Campus Planning & Design and the University of Memphis Reprographics-Tiger Copy and Graphics Center, Level I-Quality Commitment. Anne Plumb was promoted to dean of nursing for the Baptist College of Health Sciences. Plumb formerly was assistant dean of nursing for the college. She earned a doctorate in nursing from the University of Tennessee-Memphis. Monica N. Wharton joined Glankler Brown PLLC as an associate. Wharton previously served as a law clerk for the U.S. District Court for the Western District of Virginia and practiced employment law in Raleigh, N.C. She received a bachelors degree in English from Hampton University and a law degree from William and Mary School of Law. The Shelby County Sheriffs Department presented the following Symbols of Excellence awards: Patrol Officer George Selby, Medal of Valor and Purple Star; Lt. Phillip Barnett, Sgt. Richard Nelson, Patrolman George Stauffer, Patrolman Reggie Hubbard, Patrolman Samuel Jones, Patrolman William Speight, Patrolman Scott Chambers, Patrolman Darren Feathers, K-9 Rex, Reserve Officer Robert Rivera, Reserve Officer Chauncy Walton, Patrolman David Boddie, Patrolman John Rada IV, Patrolman James Masters, Patrolman Michael Bartlett, Patrolman Charles Allen, Patrolman Robert Jewell, Patrolman Michael Wilson and Patrolman Gracie Hatchett, Meritorious Service. Other Symbols of Excellence winners were: Patrolman David Wing Jr., Patrolman Kevin Helms, Patrolman Jody Fowler, Patrolman William Flannigan and Patrolman Charles Mays, Meritorious Service; Patrolman Dan Chapman, Patrolman Jason Pagenkopf, Patrolman Joe Gurley Jr. and Patrolman Brad Less, Lifesaving Medal; Patrolman Chris Jones, Lifesaving Medal and Medal of Valor; Patrolman Michael Bartlett, Medal of Valor; and Sgt. Jackie Setliff, Medal of Merit from the National Sheriffs Association.