Wednesday, November 5, 2003, Vol. 117, No. 199

Peace & Justice Center Awards Local Peacemakers

Peace & Justice Center Presents Annual Honors The Mid-South Peace & Justice Center will present the following Peacemaker 2003 awards Thursday at its annual banquet: Diamond Printing, socially responsible business; Steve Lockwood, community development; David Lubell, immigrant rights; Rose Klimek, community service; Rita Harris, environmental justice; Muslim Society of Memphis, interfaith outreach; Marquita Bradshaw, human rights; UNITE, labor and economic justice; First Congregational Church, social justice; and John and Mary Ann Spence, lifetime achievement. Harrison D. McIver III, executive director of Memphis Area Legal Services, was appointed to the Tennessee Bar Associations House of Delegates, representing Shelby County. The House of Delegates makes policy recommendations concerning the legal profession. McIver will serve a four-year term. Courtney Zito Elliot was named director of culture, recreation and tourism by the Collierville Chamber of Commerce board of directors. Elliot has worked with the chambers Collierville Tomorrow program for the past year. She earned a bachelors degree from the University of Southern Mississippi. Rick Haynes was named president of Christian Mission Concerns of Tennessee Inc. Haynes retired as executive director of the Memphis-based Plough Foundation in December. He previously was employed as a certified public accountant with Ernst & Young. Margaret McNutt joined the new Tunica RiverPark as museum curator. McNutt previously worked as assistant curator for Wonders: The Memphis International Cultural Series and as registrar for the Pink Palace Family of Museums. She earned bachelors and masters degrees from the University of Memphis. The Shelby County District Attorneys Office announced the following new hires and promotions: Reggie Henderson, chief prosecutor of the District Attorneys Gang Unit; Paul Hagerman, member of the Gang Unit; Glen Baity, division leader of Criminal Court Division 6; and Rachel Newton and Chris West (pictured), both assistant district attorneys for General Sessions Criminal Court. Crye-Leike, Realtors recently hired the following affiliate brokers: Rhoda Bell, Danita Bradford, Jwyanca Chew, Karen Hale, Audjarie Maclin, Joye Miller, Gabriel Okpah, Jacqueline Rodgers, Evette Strother, Tamekia Thompson, Theodore Williams and Sandra Wright in the Hickory Ridge office; and Brad Bennett, John Dunlap, Rita Newson, Jamie Ray, Amy Robertson and Linda Ross-Marvin in the Southaven, Miss., office. Julia Wilson was named to the newly created position of director of creative services for Civitas BankGroup, the holding company of BankTennessee. Previously, Wilson worked as marketing director for BankTennessee. Dr. Roberta Robyn Gibboney was named director of development and public relations for the Womens Foundation for a Greater Memphis. Gibboney most recently worked as director of development at the Indiana University School of Nursing. She earned a bachelors degree from Brown University, a masters degree from the State University of New York and a doctorate from Indiana University. Jeffrey K. Fleishmann joined Wyatt, Tarrant & Combs LLP as an associate. Fleishmann concentrates his practice in commercial litigation. He earned a bachelors degree from the University of Texas and a law degree from the University of Memphis.