Wednesday, July 17, 2002, Vol. 116, No. 137


Dr. E. Greer Richardson was elected 2002-2003 American Orthopaedic Foot and Ankle Society president. Richardson is an orthopaedic surgeon at Campbell Clinic who sub-specializes in the care of the foot and ankle. He joined the Campbell Clinic staff in 1977 and is a professor of Orthopaedic Surgery at the University of Tennessee-Campbell Clinic Department of Orthopaedic Surgery. He previously served as the treasurer of the society in addition to vice president and president-elect. He earned a bachelors degree at Rhodes College and a medical degree from University of Tennessee Medical School. Martin Riggs joined the University of Memphis as director of leadership gifts and campaigns, two major areas of the Universitys advancement division. He was previously associate vice president for development at Hanover College in Hanover, Ind. He has a degree from Florida State University. Robert J. Pitts was promoted to senior team leader of Pickering Inc.s general civil engineering department. He joined Pickering in 1998 as manager of Pickerings wireless communication department. Prior to joining the firm, he was a principal engineer for Constellation Energy Corp. He has a bachelors degree from West Virginia Institute of Technology and a masters degree from John Hopkins University. The Leadership Institute of Memphis announces new board officers for 2002-2003. Martha Perine Beard, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis Memphis region senior executive officer, will serve as board chair. H. Wayne Brafford, International Paper vice president and general manager, was named vice chair. David DelBrocco, DelBrocco & Associates CPA-Proprietor, will serve as secretary. J. Bryan Miller, Evangelical Christian School president, will continue as treasurer. Michael R. Pera, Marsh USA Inc. executive vice president/managing executive, is immediate past chair. New trustees elected to serve a three-year term include: Spence Byrum, Crew Training International vice president; Beth Elzemeyer, community volunteer; Michael Moffatt, Mid-South Casters and Equipment Inc. president; Howard Robertson, TRUST Marketing and Communication Consortium principal; and Lashell Vaughn, Hilton Hotels Corp. vice president of brand support and franchise. Named to one-year board terms are:

Rose Y. Temple, Baptist College of Health Sciences president, who will serve as Leadership Memphis program chair and Donna Williams, University of Tennessee assistant to vice chancellor of the business and finance department, who will serve as For Our Children program chair. Leadership Memphis Alumni Association officers include: president, Mike Warr, Porter-Leath Childrens Center executive director; vice president, Norma Upshur, Arnoult & Associates Inc. consultant; secretary, Ernestine Berry Smith, Assisi Foundation of Memphis Inc. executive assistant; and Glenn Sessoms, FedEx Corp. vice president of retail marketing, operation and sales.