Thursday, October 30, 1997, Vol. 111, No. 204

Bar association committee announces nominees Bar association committee announces nominees Prince C. Chambliss Jr., president of the Memphis Bar Association, has released the report of its nominations and elections committee chaired by Max Shelton. The 1998 president will be Robert L. Green, and the vice president will be Dorothy J. Pounders. Both automatically succeed to those positions under MBA bylaws. Voting members of the MBA will vote on the other officers. Nominees for those positions are: William H. Haltom Jr. for treasurer and G. Patrick Arnoult or John J. Heflin III for secretary. In addition, MBA voting members will elect eight individuals to a two-year term on the board of directors beginning Jan. 1. The nominees for those positions are: Walter L. Bailey Jr., Leslie I. Ballin, Andrew C. Branham, Eugene S. Forrester Jr., Thomas E. Ted Hansom, Kathryn A. King, J. Brook Lathram, James O. Lockard, Charles A. Skip Neale, Elijah Noel Jr., Harris P. Quinn, Janet L. Richards, Archie Sanders III, Stephen B. Shankman, Stephen L. Shields or Barbara Morris Zoccola. Under MBA bylaws, three section representatives are elected for a one-year term on the board of directors beginning Jan. 1. The following individuals were nominated by the MBA sections to vie for those three seats: Thomas A. Banta, corporate counsel; J. David Blaylock, bankruptcy; Joy T. Bomar, divorce and family law; G. Coble Caperton, environmental law; Aleece M. Hiller, sole/small firm; Stephen M. Kite-Powell, international law; and Robert W. McPherson, securities law. Ballots will be mailed to voting members no later than Nov. 14. According to MBA bylaws, any five voting members of the association may nominate any other voting member for any elected position not later than seven days after publication of this nominations committee report. Such nominations should be addressed to Anne Fritz, MBA executive director, One Commerce Square, Suite 1050, Memphis, TN 38103, and shall specify the nominees name, the position for which nominated and that the nominee has agreed to serve if elected. Each of the five voting members must sign the nomination, which shall be deemed filed upon its receipt at the MBA office. Winners will be announced at the MBA annual meeting and banquet, which will be held at the Peabody Hotel on Dec. 14. Members of the nominations and elections committee are Shelton, Dedrick Brittenum, David E. Caywood, Delisa Flowers Eddings, C. Suzanne Landers, Stephen R. Leffler and Kaye C. Thurmond. For more information, call Fritz at 527-3573.