Tuesday, November 5, 1996, Vol. 110, No. 215

Bar association nominees announced Bar association nominees announced Charles F. Newman, president of the Memphis Bar Association, has released the report of the Nominations and Elections Committee chaired by Blanchard E. Tual. The 1997 president will be Prince C. Chambliss Jr. and the vice president will be Robert L. Green, both who automatically succeed to those positions under the MBA bylaws. Voting members of the MBA will vote on the other officers. The nominee for treasurer is Dorothy J. Pounders. The nominees for secretary are William H. Haltom Jr. or Rebecca P. Tuttle. In addition, MBA voting members will elect eight individuals to a two-year term on the board of directors beginning Jan. 1. The nominees for those positions are: Amy J. Amundsen, William R. Bradley, Sam F. Cole Jr., Ann Camp Costello, Delisa Eddings, Donna M. Fields, David J. Harris, Stephen M. Kite-Powell, Brian L. Kuhn, Edgar A. Peterson, Donald J. Polden, David M. Rudolph, Earle J. Schwarz, Robert L. Spence Jr., Daniel L. Taylor and P. Preston Wilson. Under MBA bylaws, three section representatives are elected for a one-year term on the board of directors beginning Jan. 1. The following individuals were nominated by the MBA sections to vie for those three seats: George W. Emerson Jr., bankruptcy section; Aleece M. Hiller, sole/small firm practice section; Jennifer A. Jenson, real estate section; and Mike L. Robb, divorce and family law section. Ballots will be mailed to voting members no later than Nov. 20. According to MBA bylaws, any five voting members of the association may nominate any other voting member for any elected position not later than seven days after publication of this nominations committee report. Such nominations should be addressed to Anne Fritz, MBA executive director, One Commerce Square, Suite 1050, Memphis, Tenn., 38103, and should specify the nominees name, the position for which he or she is nominated and that the nominee has agreed to serve if elected. Each of the five voting members must sign the nomination., which shall be deemed filed upon its receipt at the MBA office. Winners will be announced at the MBA annual meeting and banquet, which will be held at the Peabody Hotel on Dec. 12. Members of the nominations and elections committee are chair Blanchard E. Tual, Louis F. Allen, Beth Weems Bradley, David E. Caywood, David M. Cook, Desiree M. Franklin and Ricky E. Wilkins. For more information, call Anne Fritz at 527-3573.