» Subscribe Today!
More of what you want to know.
The Daily News

Forgot your password?
TDN Services
Research millions of people and properties [+]
Monitor any person, property or company [+]

Skip Navigation LinksHome >
VOL. 119 | NO. 62 | Wednesday, April 6, 2005

Print | Front Page | Email this story | Comments ()
MAAR Pinnacle Awards Winners Announced

MAAR Announces Pinnacle Award Winners

The Memphis Area Association of Realtors announced the following winners of the fourth annual Pinnacle Awards: Al Andrews Jr. of Panattoni Development Co., Commercial Hall of Fame; Bayard Snowden of Colliers Wilkinson Snowden, Commercial Broker of the Year; and the late Kemmons Wilson, founder of Holiday Inns, legacy award. Pinnacle Awards for outstanding performance in 2004 were presented to the following brokers: Steve Guinn, Highwoods Properties; Dan Wilkinson, Colliers Wilkinson Snowden; Brad Kornegay, Colliers Management Services; and John Wiggins, John Lamberson and Blake Pera, CB Richard Ellis. Frazier Baker of In-Rel Management was named Newcomer of the Year.


Mary Katherine Hovious joined Bass, Berry & Sims PLC as an associate in the firms litigation practice area. Hovious previously practiced at Armstrong Allen PLLC. She earned a bachelors degree from the University of Mississippi and a law degree from the Washington & Lee School of Law.


The National Ornamental Metal Museum announced that Michael Guthrie, Susan Adler Thorpe and Dr. Richard Ranta were elected to a three-year term on the museums board of trustees. In addition, Jennifer Hughes was named Metal Museum registrar. Hughes, who joined the museum as an intern in 2003, earned a bachelors degree from the University of Central Arkansas.


Christopher T. Holmes joined Trustmark National Bank as president of the northern region. Holmes experience includes 13 years in management roles at National Commerce Financial Corp., most recently as executive vice president for strategic banking programs. He earned a bachelors degree from the University of Memphis.


Methodist Healthcare announced that Dr. Steve Miller, senior vice president of medical education and research, was named governor-elect of the Tennessee chapter of the American College of Physicians. Miller will serve a four-year term.


Tennessee Gov. Phil Bredesen recognized the following local members of the Tennessee Commission on National & Community Service: Mark Gage, Dr. Alicia McClary, Edward L. Stanton and Cassandra Webster.


Strategic Financial Partners announced that Stacey Conner and Jerry Corless were named Agency Builders by New England Financial for 2005 for outstanding performance and recruiting efforts.


Mark D. Griffin joined Baker, Donelson, Bearman, Caldwell & Berkowitz PC as a shareholder. Griffin is a graduate of the University of Mississippi School of Law.


Steve Mitchell, manager of a Bartlett McDonalds restaurant, was recognized with the companys Ray Kroc Award. The annual, performance-based award recognizes the top 1 percent of McDonalds restaurant managers in the country. This is the second time Mitchell has earned the award. Cordova McDonalds manager Ronnie Leonard also earned the Ray Kroc Award. Leonard has been with McDonalds for 16 years and has been a manager for 13 years.


The Memphis chapter of the National Association of Health Services Executives announced that scholarships have been named after two local health care executives. William Jackson, a health care consultant and the first African-American to head the Regional Medical Center at Memphis, is the namesake of the William L. Jackson Pioneers Award for graduate students. Aubrey J. Howard, chief executive officer of Midtown Mental Health Center, is the namesake of the Aubrey J. Howard Founders Award for upper-level undergraduate health care students.


PROPERTY SALES 40 220 16,417
MORTGAGES 28 85 10,172
BUILDING PERMITS 161 826 39,370
BANKRUPTCIES 29 136 7,733