» Subscribe Today!
More of what you want to know.
The Daily News

Forgot your password?
TDN Services
Research millions of people and properties [+]
Monitor any person, property or company [+]

Skip Navigation LinksHome >
VOL. 119 | NO. 47 | Wednesday, March 9, 2005

Print | Front Page | Email this story | Comments ()
Smith & Nephew Announces New Division and Promotions

Smith & Nephew Announces New Division, Promotions

Steve Hirsch was named president of Smith & Nephew Orthopaedics, a new division of the company opening in Europe. The following promotions also were announced: Scott Flora, to senior vice president and general manager of the reconstructive division, Mark Augusti, to senior vice president and general manager of the trauma division; and Joe Woody, to vice president and general manager of the clinical therapies division.


Tim Stanz of Shoemaker Financial opened a new office of the company in Somerville. Stanz, a financial adviser with Shoemaker, recently was inducted as president of the Fayette County Chamber of Commerce.


Spicer, Flynn & Rudstrom PLLC announced that Charles M. Weirich Jr., Daniel F.B. Peel and James E. Conley Jr. were named of counsel in the firms Memphis office.


Jack Ballard was promoted to principal of Johnson, Bailey, Henderson & McNeel Architects. Ballard has been with JBHM for eight years. He earned a bachelors degree from the University of Houston.


Yvette Brooks received certification as a Professional in Human Resources. Brooks is human resources information systems manager for Methodist Healthcare.


Howard Gober Jr. joined First Tennessee Bank as vice president of private client financial services. Gober received a bachelors degree from Southern Methodist University and a masters degree from the University of Tennessee-Knoxville.


Crye-Leike, Realtors, announced that the following sales associates were inducted into its Hall of Distinction: Bill Bates, Steve Brown, Phoebe S. Burks, Tommie Criswell-Jones, Pat Goldstein, Nancy Guy, Kim Hairrell, Carole Hinley, Jimmie E. Hopson Jr., Jan Jaeger, Kay Jefferies, Jeanene Lawhead, Lynette Magee, Kathy McMath, William Mitchell, Saeed Nia, Lillian Schneider and Sue Stinson-Turner.


Shelby County Schools presented the David A. Pickler Distinguished Technology Educator Award to Holly Rothman of Rivercrest Elementary and Paula McDonel of Collierville High School. In addition, Shelby County Schools Superintendent Dr. Bobby G. Webb received the 2005 American Association of School Administrators Presidents Technology Award.


Sherrie S. Johnson joined the sales force of Crye-Leike, Realtors, as an affiliate broker. Johnson previously worked with Direct Adjusting Co. as a claims adjuster.


The Christian Financial Professionals Network named Jim Shoemaker a certified member. Shoemaker is a certified financial planner and president of Shoemaker Financial.


Members of the American Public Transportation Association elected Mattie Carter to the APTA executive committee as vice chair-transit board members. Carter is board commissioner of the Memphis Area Transit Authority.


Rebecca C. Self joined Ison & Decosimo as a senior accountant. Self earned a bachelors degree from Christian Brothers University and a masters degree from East Tennessee State University. She formerly served as controller for the Elizabethton, Tenn., municipal airport.


United Van Lines announced that the following sales representatives were named salespeople of the month for November: Theresa Williams, Household Goods Corporate Accounts; Randy Kelly, Household Goods Residential; and Melissa Singer-Reed, Special Products.


PROPERTY SALES 207 263 9,865
MORTGAGES 197 246 10,862
BUILDING PERMITS 138 686 21,643
BANKRUPTCIES 0 256 6,219