» Subscribe Today!
More of what you want to know.
The Daily News

Forgot your password?
TDN Services
Research millions of people and properties [+]
Monitor any person, property or company [+]

Skip Navigation LinksHome >
VOL. 118 | NO. 172 | Wednesday, September 22, 2004

Print | Front Page | Email this story | Comments ()
Local Attorney Named Chairperson of ABA Business Law Section

SCO President Earns Distinguished Service Award

The Tennessee Optometric Association presented Dr. William E. Cochran with its 2004 Distinguished Service Award. Cochran is president of the Southern College of Optometry. He currently serves on the National Board of Examiners in Optometry and the Executive Committee of the Association of Schools and Colleges of Optometry. He is past-president of the ASCO.


Barbara Mayden was named chairman of the American Bar Associations business law section. Mayden is a corporate attorney with Bass, Berry & Sims PLC. She is a graduate of Indiana University and the University of Georgia School of Law.


Dr. Janette Dumas joined the faculty of the Southern College of Optometry as a clinical instructor. Previously, Dumas was the pediatric resident in the residency program at The Eye Center at SCO. She earned a doctor of optometry degree at the University of Missouri-St. Louis College of Optometry.


Sonja Emziah joined the Girl Scout Council of the Mid-South as program and volunteer development director. Raleigh Walker joined the organization as field executive. Vanessa Gray joined as In the School Day coordinator.


Dr. Charles L. Haine received the 2004 Foley House Award from his alma mater, Indiana University School of Optometry. Haine is vice president for academic affairs and a professor at the Southern College of Optometry. Along with a doctor of optometry degree from Indiana University School of Optometry, Haine received bachelors and masters degrees from Indiana University.


The following people have been hired or promoted at archer>malmo: Melissa Webb, associate media director; Pete Montgomery, Erin Reynolds and Stephanie Riggs, senior account executives; Kong Wee Pang, assistant art director; and Monica Clifton, traffic manager.


Tennessee Gov. Phil Bredesen appointed Margaret Troy of Memphis to the Health Services and Development Agency.


Dr. R. Alan Landers joined the faculty of the Southern College of Optometry as a clinical instructor. Landers previously spent several years in private practice in Atlanta. He earned a doctor of optometry degree at the University of Alabama-Birmingham.


Dr. Paul D. Mormon joined the faculty of the Southern College of Optometry as a clinical instructor. Mormon, who previously served as an associate adjunct faculty member, earned a doctor of optometry degree at SCO.


Regina Kent Clay was selected for membership in the Realtors Land Institute, where she will work toward the accredited land consultant designation. Clay is an affiliate broker with Crye-Leike Realtors. She also holds the Graduate Realtors Institute designation.


Liz Awsumb was awarded Grace-St. Lukes Episcopal Schools Lorena Webber Walker Award for 2004. Awsumb, a kindergarten teacher, has been with the school for eight years.


Old Dominion Freight Line Inc. announced the addition of two new district sales representatives: Graham L. Moore and James M. Wright. Moore has eight years of experience in the transportation industry. He received a bachelors degree from Bellevue Community College. Wright has 10 years of experience in transportation. He received a bachelors degree from the University of Mississippi. He previously worked as a dispatcher with Old Dominion.


The Kiwanis Club of Memphis named Detective Steve Montgomery of the Shelby County Sheriffs Office Deputy of the Year. Montgomery leads a team of investigators in the Sheriffs Office ALERT Squad, or Area Law Enforcement Retail Team. Montgomery conceived the idea for the ALERT squad.


PROPERTY SALES 103 137 4,008
MORTGAGES 84 131 4,521
BUILDING PERMITS 178 368 9,636
BANKRUPTCIES 50 110 2,995