» Subscribe Today!
More of what you want to know.
The Daily News

Forgot your password?
TDN Services
Research millions of people and properties [+]
Monitor any person, property or company [+]

Skip Navigation LinksHome >
VOL. 118 | NO. 130 | Wednesday, July 21, 2004

Print | Front Page | Email this story | Comments ()
Le Bonheur Hires Two New Surgeons

Taylor Elected to TTLA Board of Governors

Chris Taylor was elected to the Tennessee Trial Lawyers Association Board of Governors. Taylor, a shareholder in Hill Borens Memphis office, also will serve as a TTLA delegate to the American Trial Lawyers Association. Taylor earned a law degree from the University of Tennessee College of Law.


Panya Martin was named branch director of the Medical Center branch of Memphis Area Teachers Credit Union. Martin has worked for MATCU for 10 years, serving as a teller, financial services representative and assistant director.


Officer Sonya Lane became the first woman to be named a certified correction officer in the state of Tennessee by the American Corrections Association. The CCO designation is an indication of demonstrated professionalism, as well as satisfactory completion of examinations concerning inmate detention procedures. Lane has worked for the Shelby County Sheriffs Office for 15 years.


Brian Williams joined Thompson & Co. as a production artist in the companys creative department. Williams previously worked as a production artist for Maris West & Baker and The Ramey Agency. He received an associates degree from Hinds Community College and a bachelors degree from Delta State University.


The Memphis Oral School for the Deaf announced that the following individuals were elected to its board of directors for 2004-2005: Kathy Christiansen, Debbie Compton, Susan Edmonds, Dr. Bruce Fetterman, Roberta Hefley, Lynn Jackson, Kathy Kelley, Waverly McFarland, Elizabeth McNeill, Nancy Magill, David Miller, Jack Muhs, Dr. Fred Palmer, Lewis Pittman, David Pickler, Lee Sisson, Marlin Womack and Nancy Wood. The following individuals were elected officers: Waverly McFarland, chairman; Susan Edmonds, vice chairman; Marlin Womack, treasurer; and Kathy Kelley, secretary.


Danny Van Horn was named president-elect of the Tennessee Bar Associations Young Lawyers Division. Van Horn, an attorney with Armstrong Allen PLLC, will sit on the TBA board of governors. He is an active member of the American Bar Associations Young Lawyers Division and the Memphis Bar Association.


Vijaya Joshi joined the pediatric cardiology team at Le Bonheur Childrens Medical Center. Joshi previously worked at the Childrens Hospital in Philadelphia, where he served as a staff cardiologist in the echocardiology lab, and as an associate professor of pediatrics at the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine. He received a medical degree from the University of Vermont School of Medicine.


Martin L. Blakely joined Le Bonheur Childrens Medical Center as a pediatric surgeon. Blakely previously was a pediatric surgeon at the University of Texas. He received a bachelors degree from Rhodes College and attended medical school at the University of Tennessee College of Medicine and the University of Texas Schools of Public Health and Medicine.


NovaCopy selected Brad McDaniel as sales leader of the month for June and July. McDaniel earned the designation for outstanding sales performance.


Memphis City Schools announced that the following educators were selected to be trained as principals: Michelle Brantley-Patterson, Tamika Carwell, Catherine Diezi, LaWanda Hill, Tammie Neilsen, Keith Sanders, Tisha Stewart, Randy Thompson and Patrick Washington. The educators were selected to participate in a New Leaders, New Schools program and will attend a six-week academic boot camp at the Wharton School of Business in Philadelphia. Yolanda Williamson was chosen as leadership coach for the Memphis program.


PROPERTY SALES 57 94 2,713
MORTGAGES 16 37 1,820
BUILDING PERMITS 303 621 6,322
BANKRUPTCIES 138 138 1,115