» Subscribe Today!
More of what you want to know.
The Daily News

Forgot your password?
TDN Services
Research millions of people and properties [+]
Monitor any person, property or company [+]

Skip Navigation LinksHome >
VOL. 118 | NO. 44 | Wednesday, March 17, 2004

Print | Front Page | Email this story | Comments ()
Allstate Insurance Honors Scientists with Awards

Allstate Insurance Honors Area Scientists

Allstate Insurance honored the following scientists with its From Whence We Came awards: Dr. Daniel L. Hunt, biostatistician with St. Jude Childrens Research Hospital; Yvonne Jenious, science teacher at Graceland Elementary School; Dr. Eldridge Johnson, associate professor at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center; Dr. Muriel Curry Rice, assistant professor at the UT Health Science Center; and Dr. Isiah M. Warner, a Boyd professor of chemistry at Louisiana State University.


John R. Cruz joined Thompson & Co. as art director. Cruz, who has been a finalist in the London International Advertising Award Show and the San Francisco Advertising Award Show, graduated from the University of Texas.


The Mid-South Chapter of the Association of Certified Fraud Examiners announced its elected officers for 2004: Nate Lenow, president; Cendy Boyd, vice president; Michael Smith, secretary; Richard Cohen, treasurer; Edwin Bradberry and Tim Thompson, board members; and Andy Wilson, training director.


Carney Duntsch was named corporate communications and investor relations manager for GTx Inc. She previously served as director of communications and marketing for the American Cancer Society. Duntsch graduated from the University of Tennessee at Knoxville.


Crye-Leike, Realtors, honored the following associates for 15 years of service: Patti Baggett, Mary Lou Smith and Spanky Williams, Bartlett branch; Irv White, Cordova branch; Jimme Harder Fowler and Alice Newton, East Memphis branch; Sue Helmers and Peggy Vinson, Germantown-Exeter branch; Jackie Thornton, Hickory Ridge branch; Susan Brubaker, Carole Hinely, Lary Mivelaz and Linda Norton, Quail Hollow branch; Gerald Vaughan, Whitehaven branch; and Cheryl Boswell, Crye-Leike Relocation Services.


Joi Taylor was named Supervisor ACE of the Year 2003 for Grand Casino-Tunica by Caesars Entertainment. The ACES awards stand for Associates Celebrating Excellence in Service. Taylor has worked for Grand for three years. She lives in Hernando, Miss.


The following associates were honored by Crye-Leike, Realtors, for 10 years of service: Dot Barlow, Charles Carroll, Gail Russo, Yonna Shemwell and Debbie Timbs, Bartlett branch; Tucker Beck and Boyce Bradford, Crye-Leike Commercial; Winona Williams and Tory Yates, Cordova branch; Erma Jean Williams, Germantown-Exeter branch; and Ruth Brooks, Tammy Bunnell, Pat Goldstein, Marcia Hughes, Carole Pauken and Marlene Williams, Germantown-Poplar branch.


Rose Lindsey, administrator of quality, accreditation and case management for Baptist Memorial Health Care, was chosen to co-chair the Institute for Healthcare Improvements 2004 National Forum on Quality Improvement in Health Care. Lindsey has worked at Baptist since 1979. She is pursuing a doctorate in health care administration.


Michael Graber joined Lokion Interactive LLC as creative director and vice president of marketing. Graber was a partner at the firm of Johnson & Graber before the partnership dissolved in February.


Roc Johnson joined Archer/Malmo Inc. as director of interactive applications. Johnson was a partner at the firm of Johnson & Graber before the partnership dissolved in February.


Sandra Thomas was named Leadership ACE of the Year 2003 for Sheraton Casino-Tunica by Caesars Entertainment. The ACES awards stand for Associates Celebrating Excellence in Service. Thomas has worked for Sheraton for eight years. She lives in Horn Lake, Miss.


PROPERTY SALES 51 333 19,446
MORTGAGES 68 383 22,433
BUILDING PERMITS 138 688 40,004
BANKRUPTCIES 34 238 12,486