» Subscribe Today!
More of what you want to know.
The Daily News

Forgot your password?
TDN Services
Research millions of people and properties [+]
Monitor any person, property or company [+]

Skip Navigation LinksHome >
VOL. 118 | NO. 20 | Wednesday, February 4, 2004

Print | Front Page | Email this story | Comments ()
Area Fire Fighters, Police Awarded for Bravery

Firefighters, Officers Awarded for Bravery


The 100 Club of Memphis presented Valor Awards, the highest honor for bravery in Memphis and Shelby County, to Collierville police officer Michael Riley and Memphis firefighters Lt. Richard Lee and driver Andy Mills. A new award, the Jerome Turner Community Justice Award, was presented to Lt. William Shannon Jones of the Memphis Fire Department for outstanding community service.


Michael R. Hess was named a shareholder of Baker, Donelson, Bearman, Caldwell & Berkowitz PC. Hess is an associate working in the firms Memphis and Jackson, Tenn., offices. He concentrates his practice in health care law, representing hospitals, nursing homes, home health agencies, physicians and medical equipment providers.


Jackie G. Prester was named a shareholder in the Memphis office of Baker, Donelson, Bearman, Caldwell & Berkowitz PC. Prester concentrates her practice in banking, securities, mergers and acquisitions and general corporate law. Prior to attending law school, she worked as a national bank examiner with the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency in Fort Worth, Texas, and Memphis.


Dr. Paul Rydelek, an associate research professor of geophysics at the University of Memphis, published research in the Jan. 8 issue of the scientific journal Nature. Rydelek and co-author Dr. Martitia Tuttle reported on explosive liquefaction observed in western India following a Jan. 2001 earthquake.


Danny Van Horn, an associate with Armstrong Allen PLLC, was elected a member of the firm. Van Horn concentrates his practice in commercial litigation, with experience in commercial disputes, intellectual property litigation, employment litigation and lender liability. He has been an associate of the firm for six years.


Jason Yarbro, an associate with Armstrong Allen PLLC, was elected a member of the firm. He concentrates his practice in corporate and commercial transactions, including mergers and acquisitions, securities, venture capital and secured transactions. He has been with the firm for four years.


Gov. Phil Bredesen recently appointed the following local residents to state boards and commissions: Dennis Henderson, Philip K. Lim and David M. Schuermann, Architects and Engineers Board; Frank L. Cotton, Commission on Firefighting Standards and Education; Thomasa Cooper, Medical Laboratory Board; and Rev. Samuel Billy Kyles, Tennessee Human Rights Commission.


Diane Allen was named senior vice president by the directors of West Tennessee Bancshares Inc., a holding company for the Bank of Bartlett, Bartlett Mortgage and Bartlett Travel. Allen serves as corporate director of human resources.


Kenny W. Harris was named first vice president by the directors of Bank of Bartlett. Harris is chief lending officer over commercial and real estate loans.


Chris Hlebak was appointed to the newly created position of chief technology officer at Software Earnings Inc. Hlebak has worked at Software Earnings since 1998, most recently as a senior software engineer. He earned a bachelors degree from Ohio State University.


Chris Campbell was named a member of Harris, Shelton, Dunlap, Cobb & Ryder PLLC. Previously, Campbell was an associate of the firm. He concentrates his practice in civil litigation and insurance defense, including health care litigation, hospital litigation, medical malpractice defense and personal injury litigation.


PROPERTY SALES 56 56 9,658
MORTGAGES 49 49 10,665
BUILDING PERMITS 212 212 21,170
BANKRUPTCIES 49 49 6,157