» Subscribe Today!
More of what you want to know.
The Daily News

Forgot your password?
TDN Services
Research millions of people and properties [+]
Monitor any person, property or company [+]

Skip Navigation LinksHome >
VOL. 117 | NO. 136 | Wednesday, July 30, 2003

Print | Front Page | Email this story | Comments ()
<ephoto> Rear Adm

Rear Adm. Jeffrey L. Fowler was named commander of Navy recruiting following the retirement of Rear Adm. George E. Voelker. Fowler completed a military fellowship in 2002-2003 and is a life member at the Council of Foreign Relations. He earned a bachelor of science in mechanical engineering from the U.S. Naval Academy and entered the Naval Nuclear Propulsion Program upon commissioning.


State Sen. Steve Cohen, D-Memphis, received the Leadership in Education award from the National College Board in recognition of his 20-year effort to establish a lottery to fund education in Tennessee. The beneficiary of Tennessees lottery will be college scholarships for Tennessee students, early learning programs and after-school programs. Cohen accepted the award at the National Conference of State Legislatures annual luncheon in San Francisco.


Crye-Leike Realtors Inc. received the Above & Beyond Award from Tennessee Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve. The state award is given to employers who surpass federal laws in employment benefit practices for employees in the military. The company has 54 sales associates and employees who are on active duty in the National Guard or who have family members serving in the military.


Lisa Sanford was promoted to first vice president of Premier Banking in Memphis at BancorpSouth. She completed the graduate school of banking program at Louisiana State University, the Southern School of Commercial Lending and the Cannon School of Private Banking.


R. Cambell Hillyer was named an associate at the law firm of Humphreys Dunlap Wellford Acuff & Stanton. In addition, Thomas H. Fulton, a shareholder in the firm, was appointed to the federal bench as United States bankruptcy judge for the Western District of Kentucky in Louisville.


Memphis-area artists chosen to participate in the Delta/Axis and Art Museum of the University of Memphis show MAX:03 are: Andrea Prince, Lester Julian Merriweather, Kim Beck, Val Valgardson, Kelley Sharp, Tad Lauritzen Wright, Terri Jones, Keren Kroul, Howard Paine, Sara Good and Tara Bullington. Curator is Beth Venn. The show runs through Sept. 6 at the Art Museum of the University of Memphis.


Kevin Womack was named Memphis city president of FirstBank. Womack came to FirstBank in January 2003 as senior vice president of commercial lending in the loan production office on Wolfcreek Parkway. He earned a bachelors degree from Mississippi State University and is a graduate of the Louisiana State University School of Banking.


Brian L. Kuhn was appointed county attorney by Shelby County Mayor A C Wharton. He succeeds Donnie Wilson, who resigned as county attorney in July. Kuhn is a senior counsel with Ford & Harrison law firm. He served as county attorney from 1982 to 1994 and as the countys chief administrative officer in 1981.


Jeffrey A. Harper was named senior vice president for business development at Strategic Resource Management. Harper previously worked with Lockheed Martin and served as the president and chief executive officer of Outsource Management Group LLC. He graduated from James Madison University.


The Leadership Institute of Memphis announced the following trustees were elected to the 2003-2004 executive committee: Martha Perine Beard, chair; H. Wayne Brafford, vice chair; Melvin Jones, secretary; David DelBrocco, treasurer; and Paula Jacobson, Jack Peck, Jill Stem, Norma I.B. Upshur and Lashell Vaughn, members. Trustees elected to a three-year term were Maurice Elliott, J. Randolph Flatt and Glenn D. Sessoms. Elected to a one-year board term were Carol S. Dominioni and Upshur.


The following Memphis residents received a 2004 Individual Artist Fellowship from the Tennessee Arts Council: Hamlett Dobbins, recipient of the Visual Arts Fellowship (two-dimensional); Ondine Michelle Geary, recipient of the Dance Fellowship (performance); and Joseph Salvalaggio, recipient of the Music Fellowship (instrumental performance).


Cochran, Cherry, Givens, Smith & Bolton LLP announced the following new associates have joined the firm: David A. McLaughlin, Peter B. Gee, Drayton D. Berkley, Parke S. Morris and Elizabeth G. Rudolph.

To submit items for Memphis Memos, e-mail ksimone@memphisdailynews.com. Electronic photographs should be submitted in .jpg format.


PROPERTY SALES 57 94 2,713
MORTGAGES 16 37 1,820
BUILDING PERMITS 303 621 6,322
BANKRUPTCIES 138 138 1,115