» Subscribe Today!
More of what you want to know.
The Daily News

Forgot your password?
TDN Services
Research millions of people and properties [+]
Monitor any person, property or company [+]

Skip Navigation LinksHome >
VOL. 117 | NO. 55 | Wednesday, March 19, 2003

Print | Front Page | Email this story | Comments ()
Memphis Memos March 19

Ken Newberry was appointed senior vice president at Memphis Area Teachers Credit Union. He earned a bachelors degree from Christian Brothers University. Prior to joining MATCU, he worked at Union Planters Bank.


Stan Cardwell, a sales representative for AmeriGas Propane in Memphis, won the Presidents Award in the AmeriGas Circle of Excellence sales recognition and rewards program for fiscal 2002. This is the second consecutive year he received the honor. He has worked for AmeriGas for 24 years.


Danny Langston joined Pickering Firm Inc. as an electrical engineer. Langston has 28 years experience. He earned a bachelors degree from the University of Memphis.


John Speers joined Bass Berry & Sims Memphis office in its business litigation and bankruptcy/restructuring division. Prior to joining the firm, he worked for nearly 30 years at Baker, Donelson, Bearman & Caldwell, where he became known for his work in the financial services and health care industries.


Keith Vander Steeg was appointed senior vice president of loan administration for BancorpSouths northwest region. He previously served as president of BancorpSouths Collierville and Millington branches. He earned a bachelors degree from the University of Memphis.


Jennifer Peabody Barr was appointed membership coordinator for the Childrens Museum of Memphis. She earned a bachelors degree from the University of Tennessee.


Roger Parker was appointed administrator for Gallaway Healthcare Center in Gallaway, Tenn. Prior to joining the firm, he was assistant administrator for Erin Care and Rehab Center in Erin, Tenn.


Charles C. Taylor Jr. was appointed to direct the activities of the Governors Highway Safety Office. He will begin his new duties March 31. Prior to the appointment, Taylor was manager of faith-based initiatives for the Memphis mayors office.


Canty Robbins was appointed University of Memphis director of purchasing. Prior to joining the U of M, she was Southwest Tennessee Community College director of purchasing and auxiliary services. She earned a bachelors degree from Christian Brothers University and a masters degree from the University of Arkansas.


Three civic or community leaders received appointments from Gov. Phil Bredesen to serve on boards or commissions that support the operation of state government. George Harvell, Millington mayor, and Henry Hooper, owner of Henry Hooper State Farm, were appointed to the Tennessee military affairs commission. Jerry Fanion, Shelby County Sheriffs Office deputy administrator, was chosen to serve on the Tennessee peace officers standards and training commission. By law, terms for the new board and commission members coincide with Bredesens time in office.


Crye-Leike announced its top 25 sales producers for 2002 for the Greater Memphis area. Judy McLellan of Crye-Leike's Quail Hollow branch earned the No. 1 sales producer ranking, followed by No. 2 sales producer Mary Ann Tapp of Crye-Leike's Arlington branch and No. 3, Leigh Anne and Terry Boyd of the Olive Branch, Miss., office. Stanley Mills of the Quail Hollow branch is the lifetime No. 1 sales producer of Crye-Leike, so named for achieving top producer of the company 10 years in a row. Other top sales producers are Lauren Criswell of the U.S. Highway 64/Houston Levee branch in Arlington; Steve Boysen, Frances May and Marc Scheinberg, all of the Bartlett branch; Joyce McKenzie and Lisa Yendrek, both of the Collierville branch; Cheryl Austin and Winona Williams, both of the Cordova branch; Carole Pleasants, Betty Joyner, Jimmie and Robert Tapley, Elise and Jack Ward, Chet and Judy Whitsitt, Amanda Wright, and Dolly Willis, all of the Quail Hollow branch; Lisa Harris and Diane Raycher, both of the Germantown-Poplar branch; Jeanette Hollowell and Larry Webb, both of the Olive Branch, Miss., branch; Kay Jefferies and Annice Kyle, both of the Southaven, Miss., branch; and Brenda Estes of the Tupelo, Miss., branch.

PROPERTY SALES 70 70 16,267
MORTGAGES 30 30 10,117
BUILDING PERMITS 297 297 38,841
BANKRUPTCIES 44 44 7,641