» Subscribe Today!
More of what you want to know.
The Daily News

Forgot your password?
Skip Navigation LinksHome >
VOL. 117 | NO. 50 | Wednesday, March 12, 2003

Print | Front Page | Email this story | Comments ()
Memphis memos 03-12-03

Chris Camp joined auction-marketing firm John Roebuck & Associates as vice president of business development. Camp has more than 15 years experience in real estate, development, design and building. He joined Roebuck from Camp Investments, where he bought and refurbished properties.


Alston Sory has joined Archer-Malmo as an account coordinator on the agencys Valent U.S.A. team.  He earned a bachelors degree from the University of Mississippi. Prior to joining the firm, he worked at Boykin Agricultural Service and Abbott Laboratories.


Donna J. Russell has joined Baker, Donelson, Bearman & Caldwell as a member of the intellectual property group. She will base her practice in Memphis and Nashville, Tenn. She earned doctoral and law degrees from Vanderbilt University. She earned bachelors and masters degrees from the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga.


David W. Barham was promoted to operations finance chief financial officer for Baptist Memorial Health Care. Barham began his Baptist career as the systems Union City controller. He later became chief financial officer for Baptist's West Tennessee/East Arkansas market, then became CFO for all of Baptist's regional markets.


The Memphis Chapter of the Public Relations Society of America elected officers for 2003. Elizabeth Maynard-Garrett of the Southern College of Optometry is the new president. Randy Baker, vice chairman and chief executive officer of Thompson, Baker & Berry Public Relations, is president-elect and programs chairman. Other officers are Kathie Alexander of Hutchison School, vice president of membership; Daphne Thomas of the Memphis Mayor's Office, secretary; Betty Chiu of ALSAC/St. Jude, treasurer; and Debbi Hicks of Memphis Video Productions, assistant treasurer. Elected directors are Bob Phillips of Thompson, Baker & Berry; Rod Starns of Running Pony Productions; and Stephanie Wilson Nichols of Stephanie Nichols Communications. Rick Fischer and Dan Lattimore of the University of Memphis were elected assembly delegates.


The Tennessee Arts Commission announced the recipients of the 2003 Governors Awards in the Arts. The awards will be presented during a celebration of the arts Tuesday in Nashville. One of three people receiving a Distinguished Artist Award is sculptor Luther Hampton of Memphis, who has served as a major creative influence and is credited with opening the door for many African-American artists. Three individuals and three organizations will receive Arts Leadership Awards, including community leader and visionary arts supporter Bob Cannon of Memphis.


Crye-Leike announced 13 of its sales associates were recently inducted into the companys Circle of Excellence. Founded by Crye-Leike in 1987, the circle includes 150 sales associates who have attained this distinction out of Crye-Leike's sales force of 2,200. Circle members are awarded the designation vice president of Crye-Leike. Those from the Greater Memphis area are: Cyndi Craft and Dot Hairrell of Crye-Leike's Bartlett branch; Jan Jaeger of the Collierville branch; Mitch Goldberg of the Cordova branch; Pat Goldstein and Mary Jeffrey of the Germantown-Poplar branch; Fosta Brown, Lisa Davis, Evlyn DeZonia and Mandy Rodgers of the Quail Hollow branch; Dean Moore of the Southaven, Miss., branch; and Pat Lackey and Dianne Person of the West Memphis, Ark., branch.

Sign-Up For Our Free Email Edition
Get the news first with our daily email

Blog News, Training & Events
PROPERTY SALES 79 396 11,921
MORTGAGES 90 443 13,870
BUILDING PERMITS 191 975 25,139
BANKRUPTCIES 56 289 7,762

Weekly Edition

Issues | About

The Memphis News: Business, politics, and the public interest.