» Subscribe Today!
More of what you want to know.
The Daily News

Forgot your password?
TDN Services
Research millions of people and properties [+]
Monitor any person, property or company [+]

Skip Navigation LinksHome >
VOL. 116 | NO. 220 | Wednesday, November 13, 2002

Print | Front Page | Email this story | Comments ()
John Koonce, Michael A

John Koonce, Michael A. Wells and Tarie Smith, all Memphis residents, were chosen to win Canadian National Railway Co.s President's Awards for Excellence for 2002. Koonce is general chairman of the Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers. Wells is a mechanical foreman. Smith is an electrician.


Enterprise National Bank announced the following promotions: Debbie Gleason to executive vice president and senior credit and operations manager; Michael Erhardt to senior vice president and controller; Andy Taylor to first vice president and asset quality manager; Carla Smith to senior vice president and loan division manager; Bob Word to senior vice president of construction lending; Harriette Edwards to first vice president and retail division manager; and Niki Mitchell to banking officer and financial center manager. Enterprise National Bank also added Lisa Yaffe as banking officer and financial center manager and Ethan Argo to Enterprise Mortgage Solutions. Prior to joining Enterprise, Argo owned his own business. David Cluck joined Enterprise Mortgage Solutions as a mortgage consultant. Dee Lenderman joined the commercial lending division as a vice president. She has been in banking for more than six years.


Blake W. Bourland and E. Eugene Thornton III have joined the statewide law firm of Stokes Bartholomew Evans & Petree as associates in its Memphis office. Bourland, a recent graduate of the University of Tennessee College of Law, worked as a summer associate with Stokes Bartholomew Evans & Petree while in law school. He joins the firm's litigation practice group. Thornton joins the firm's corporate law and securities regulation and commercial real estate and banking practice groups. He earned a law degree from the University of Mississippi School of Law. While in law school, Thornton was a summer associate for Stokes Bartholomew Evans & Petree. Prior to law school, Thornton led a management team for AutoZone Inc., and served as a unit manager with Guardsmark Inc.


State Sen. Mark Norris (R-Collierville) was appointed an honorary member of the American Planning Association. He was chosen for the honor for authoring two pieces of legislation during the 102nd General Assembly that fostered orderly growth and development and protected the rights of landowners. Norris is a senior member of Armstrong Allen, where he has practiced law since 1980.


Milton J. Schachter joined Carvel Imaging Center in Olive Branch, Miss., as chief operating officer. Prior to joining Carvel, he was chief executive officer of Health First Medical Group.


Teodoro Alvarez and Thomas B. Simpson were selected to receive the FedEx Express Humanitarian Award, which rewards employees whose acts promote human welfare and community responsibility. Alvarez and Simpson administered cardiopulmonary resuscitation to an unconscious coworker, which helped stabilize breathing and heart rate until emergency personnel arrived. Other Memphis employees selected for the award are Darryl A. Bell, Daniel J. Butler, Dorothy J. Criswell, Jacqueline N. Gilbert, Susan A. Ourfalian and Michael A. Payne.


Eddie Batey and Natalie Jones have joined the Hands On Memphis programming staff. Batey, former Memphis University School director of counseling services and lower school counselor, is now the youth program manager. Jones, formerly Memphis Inter-Faith Association outreach coordinator, joined Hands On Memphis as program manager.

PROPERTY SALES 57 94 2,713
MORTGAGES 16 37 1,820
BUILDING PERMITS 303 621 6,322
BANKRUPTCIES 138 138 1,115