» Subscribe Today!
More of what you want to know.
The Daily News

Forgot your password?
TDN Services
Research millions of people and properties [+]
Monitor any person, property or company [+]

Skip Navigation LinksHome >
VOL. 116 | NO. 152 | Wednesday, August 7, 2002

Print | Front Page | Email this story | Comments ()
Amanda Dame joined archer>malmo as an account supervisor, with day-to-day responsibility for managing the Valent U

Amanda Dame joined archer>malmo as an account supervisor. She will manage the Valent U.S.A. team and leading new business development in the agriculture category. Dame comes to the agency with 7 years of agricultural experience plus a degree in agri-business from Southeast Missouri State University. The agency hired Darryl Torrell as database analyst. He comes to archer>malmo from Thompson & Co., where he was database marketing manager. Torrell has 9 years experience in information technology, including work for Northern Telecom, America Online, Bowden Building Corp. and Bob Ladd Inc. He earned a bachelors degree from the University of Tennessee.


Olin F. Morris was re-elected to the Muscular Dystrophy Association board of directors. Morris was elected to a 1-year term as a volunteer leader of the national health organization during MDA's recent annual meeting in Los Angeles. Morris is a former senior vice president of the New York Times Broadcast Group, which owns and operates WREG, Channel 3.


Brenda P. Solomito has joined Askew Hargraves Harcourt & Associates Inc. as a senior land planner in the land planning department. She will provide site master planning, zoning and subdivision guidance. Solomito earned bachelors and masters degrees from the University of Memphis. She has 11 years experience in the master planning and zoning of regional and community commercial centers, resort and entertainment projects, mixed use and residential developments as well as the comprehensive planning for neighborhoods and suburban cities.


Carol Thornton was appointed by Baptist Memorial Health Care Foundation as director of development. She was director of development for Christian Brothers University. She earned bachelors and masters degrees from the University of Memphis.


Thomas Hobson joined the Le Bonheur Childrens Medical Center staff as a child life specialist. He earned a bachelors degree from Presbyterian College in Clinton, S.C., and a masters degree from East Carolina University. As a music therapist at Le Bonheur, he will work with patients to ensure they are developing properly physically, cognitively and socially using music as his medium.


Elizabeth H. Foss joined Wyatt, Tarrant & Combs as an associate and will practice in the firms Nashville, Tenn., office. She earned a law degree from the University of Tennessee College of Law and concentrates her practice in the area of labor and employment. Prior to joining Wyatt, Tarrant & Combs, she was an associate for Spears, Moore, Rebman & Williams in Chattanooga, Tenn.


Jeffrey L. Arnold, principal of the Memphis engineering firm Fisher & Arnold Inc., received a presidential citation in recognition of his service to the American Council of Engineering Cos. of Tennessee. He was particularly recognized for his leadership of the organizations transportation committee in building a collaborative relationship between ACEC of Tennessee and the Tennessee Department of Transportation.


Brian Laskaris was appointed First Mercantile Trust Co. product manager for its employee benefits program. He joined First Mercantile in 1999 as a conversion coordinator. He earned a bachelors degree from the University of Tennessee.


Carol Coletta, program founder and host of WKNO-FMs Smart City, won first place honors from Public Radio News Directors Inc. for the three-part series Imagine a Great City, which aired in the summer of 2001.


The Memphis Advertising Federation appointed its 2002-2003 board of directors: Sam Goff, president; Mickey Woodham, first vice president; Tim Sellers, second vice president; Joe Lackie, third vice president; Trena Street, 7th District historian; Ron Spielberger, student adviser; Leigh Bynum McCraw, executive director; Gary Backaus, Bevin Baddorf, Deanna Blackledge, Kimberly Shaw Brisco, Darrow Calhoun, Hallie Conaway, Echelle Lane, Jennifer Lawrence, Dick Mathauer, Jay Perdue, Madison Posega, Richard Ranta, Glenna Rogers Ward and Scott Williams, directors. Past presidents Donna Gordy, Rikki Boyce and Judy McCown remain on the board.

PROPERTY SALES 56 437 16,061
MORTGAGES 76 508 18,556
BUILDING PERMITS 241 876 33,390
BANKRUPTCIES 64 301 10,314