» Subscribe Today!
More of what you want to know.
The Daily News

Forgot your password?
Skip Navigation LinksHome >
VOL. 116 | NO. 142 | Wednesday, July 24, 2002

Print | Front Page | Email this story | Comments ()
Lucian T

Lucian T. Pera, an attorney with Armstrong Allen, is one of the newest members of the American Law Institute. A Memphis native, Pera received a bachelors degree from Princeton University and a law degree from Vanderbilt University law school.


Lee C. Miller and Edward C. Cochran received designations as professional engineers from the Tennessee Board of Architectural and Engineering Examiners. Miller earned a bachelors degree from the Tennessee Technological University, Cookeville, Tenn. She is a structural engineer in Askew Hargraves Harcourt & Associates Inc.s Jackson, Tenn., office. Cochran received a bachelors degree from Christian Brothers University. He is a structural engineer in the firms Memphis office. Randall A. Conklin has joined the firm as an electrical designer in the firm's electrical department.


Ken Glass was named chief executive officer of First Tennessee National Corp. He replaces Ralph Horn, who will remain chairman of First Tennessees board of directors. Glass joined First Tennessee in 1974 as a corporate controller. He earned a bachelors degree at Harding University and completed the Harvard Business School advanced management program.


Dr. Ada Shotwell, Southwest Tennessee Community College liberal arts and education dean, was appointed to the American Technical Education Association editorial committee. Editorial members are responsible for reviewing, selecting and editing the articles that appear in the organizations publication, ATEA Journal.


The Memphis Chapter of the Tennessee Society of Certified Public Accountants elected 2002-2003 officers and appointed three Memphis area CPAs to chair statewide committees for the next year. The new leadership assumed office June 20. New officers are: president Steven H. Leib of Memphis, a partner with Watkins Uiberall; president-elect Terry M. Stanford of Bartlett, vice president of operations with Diversified Trust Co.; vice president of programs Dan T. Work Jr. of Germantown, a controller with Saturn of Germantown; vice president of membership Eileen E. Olewinski, a manager with Watkins Uiberall; secretary Thomas L. Williams of Memphis, a senior analyst with First Mercantile Trust Co.; and treasurer Randall T. Hendon of Memphis, an individual practitioner. Recently appointed TSCPA committee chairs include: nominating committee chair Robbie A. McKinney of Memphis, an individual practitioner; personnel committee chair William G. Griesbeck of Memphis, managing partner of Reynolds, Bone & Griesbeck; and professional development committee chair M. Gay Myers of Memphis, an accountant with UT Medical Group Inc.


Southwest Tennessee Community College appointed foundation board of trustees members for the 2002-2003 academic year. William B. Nelms, president of the Memphis division of BancorpSouth, was appointed president. John M. Farris, a principal of Farris, Mathews, Branan, Bobango & Hellen, was appointed vice president. J. Thomas Deutsch, associate vice president of investments for Raymond James & Associates Inc., was appointed secretary/treasurer.


Paul Cade was appointed administrator and chief executive officer of Baptist Memorial Hospital-Forrest City. Cade was most recently assistant administrator at Baptist Memorial Hospital-Union County in New Albany, Miss., and served as director of behavioral health at Baptist Memorial Hospital-Golden Triangle in Columbus, Miss. He earned masters degrees from Mississippi State University and Central Michigan University.

Sign-Up For Our Free Email Edition
Get the news first with our daily email

Blog News, Training & Events
PROPERTY SALES 86 393 21,159
MORTGAGES 94 424 24,785
BUILDING PERMITS 173 1,010 43,347
BANKRUPTCIES 52 292 14,194

Weekly Edition

Issues | About

The Memphis News: Business, politics, and the public interest.