» Subscribe Today!
More of what you want to know.
The Daily News

Forgot your password?
TDN Services
Research millions of people and properties [+]
Monitor any person, property or company [+]

Skip Navigation LinksHome >
VOL. 116 | NO. 30 | Wednesday, February 13, 2002

Print | Front Page | Email this story | Comments ()
Martin W Martin W. Brown and Richard J. Myers have become members of Apperson, Crump & Maxwell PLC, 6000 Poplar Ave., Suite 400. Brown earned a bachelors degree from Rhodes College and a law degree from Washington University in St. Louis. Myers, an attorney with the firm since 1997, earned a bachelors degree from Loma Linda University, a masters from the University of Chicago and a law degree from Cornell Law School. James Thomas Lowry was appointed of counsel to the firm. He earned a bachelors degree from the University of Tennessee and a law degree from the University of Memphis. The Memphis chapter of the Public Relations Society of America elected officers for 2002: Kim Cherry of First Tennessee, president; Elizabeth Maynard-Garrett of the Southern College of Optometry, president-elect; Marty Marbry of Wolfchase Galleria, vice president of membership; Aisha Harvey, secretary; Betty Chiu of ALSAC/St. Jude, treasurer; Debbi Hicks of Memphis Video Productions, assistant treasurer; Bob Phillips of Thompson and Baker, Stephanie Wilson Nichols of Stephanie Wilson Nichols Communications and Rod Starnes of Running Pony Productions, directors; Deanna Blackledge of Youth Villages and Anthony Hicks of the Tennessee Valley Authority, assembly delegates. Dr. Richard Ranta, University of Memphis dean of the College of Communication and Fine Arts, will serve as president-elect of the Memphis Rotary Club beginning in July. Currently, Ranta serves as vice president and plans programs for the regular luncheon meetings. Jules Wade, Memphis Area Association of Realtors executive director, will serve as president. Mike Palazola of M. Palazola Produce Co. will serve as vice president and program chairman. Joseph H. Powell was named the recipient of the American College of Healthcare Executives Lifetime Service Award. Powell will receive the award March 20 during ACHEs 45th Congress on Healthcare Management in Chicago. The Lifetime Service Award was established in 2000 to recognize health care executives who have made substantial contributions to ACHE during their careers. Prior to his retirement in 1994, Powell served 40 years in the Baptist Memorial Health Care System. In 1980, he was named president of the hospital and in 1981 he oversaw the formation of Baptist Memorial Health Care System, which currently provides health care in Arkansas, Mississippi and Tennessee. Following his retirement, Powell was named president emeritus and senior consultant at Baptist Memorial Health Care Corp. and Baptist Memorial Hospital, positions he still holds. Paul J. Woods Jr. was appointed president and chief operating officer for Global Materials Services LLC River Terminal Division. He joined the firm from MEMCO Barge Line Inc. in St. Louis. Derrek Mason was appointed institutional relationship manager at First Mercantile Trust Co. Mason joined the firm from Burleigh Consulting Group. He earned a bachelors degree from the University of San Diego.
PROPERTY SALES 50 389 12,758
MORTGAGES 21 248 8,003
BUILDING PERMITS 295 813 29,934
BANKRUPTCIES 35 164 6,064