» Subscribe Today!
More of what you want to know.
The Daily News

Forgot your password?
Skip Navigation LinksHome >
VOL. 113 | NO. 205 | Thursday, October 28, 1999

Print | Front Page | Email this story | Comments ()
Memphis Bar Association announced nominees Memphis Bar Association announced nominees The Memphis Bar Association has released the report of its nominations and elections committee, which was chaired by Prince Chambliss. The association president for 2000 will be William H. Haltom Jr. and the vice president will be G. Patrick Arnoult. Both automatically succeed to those positions under MBA bylaws. Voting members of the MBA have the opportunity to vote on the other officers. The nominee for treasurer is David Wade, and the nominees for secretary are Charlotte Knight Griffin and Irma W. Merrill. In addition, MBA voting members will elect eight individuals to a two-year term on the board of directors beginning Jan. 1. The nominees for those positions are Louis P. Britt III, Charles E. Carpenter, Susan M. Clark, Ellen E. Fite, John J. Heflin III, Deborah M. Henderson, L. Ross Higman, Odell Horton Jr., Kathryn A. King, George T. Lewis III, Sheryl H. Lipman, Venita M. Martin, Paul A. Matthews, Caren Nichol, Thomas L. Parker and Gwendolyn Rooks. Under MBA bylaws, three section representatives are elected for a one-year term on the board of directors beginning Jan. 1. The following individuals were nominated by the MBA sections to vie for those three seats: Stuart B. Breakstone, divorce and family law section; William M. Gotten, sole/small firm section; Robert L. Hutton, criminal law section; Bailey Leopard, environmental law section; Donald R. Rawlins, corporate counsel section; James R. Smoot, securities section; James B. Summers, technology/law practice management section; and M. Hollis Williams, bankruptcy section. Ballots will be mailed to voting members no later than Nov. 19. According to MBA bylaws, any five voting members of the association may nominate any other voting members for treasurer, secretary or the board of directors (except section representative) no later than seven days after publication of the nominations committee report. Nominations should be addressed to Anne Fritz, MBA executive director, One Commerce Square, Suite 1050, Memphis, Tenn. 38103 and should specify the nominees name, the position for which nominated and that the nominee has agreed to serve if elected. Each of the five voting members must sign the nomination, which will be deemed filed upon its receipt at the MBA office. Winners will be announced at the MBA annual meeting and banquet on Dec. 9 at the Peabody. Sen. Howard Baker will be the guest speaker. Members of the nominations and elections committee are Chambliss, Sam F. Cole Jr., Joe M. Duncan, Tabitha Francisco McNabb, Jill M. Steinberg, Mark Vorder-Bruegge Jr. and Michael M. Williams. For more information, call 527-3573.

Sign-Up For Our Free Email Edition
Get the news first with our daily email

Blog News, Training & Events
PROPERTY SALES 110 188 14,031
MORTGAGES 126 219 16,224
BUILDING PERMITS 170 411 29,164
BANKRUPTCIES 57 116 9,042

Weekly Edition

Issues | About

The Memphis News: Business, politics, and the public interest.