» Subscribe Today!
More of what you want to know.
The Daily News

Forgot your password?
TDN Services
Research millions of people and properties [+]
Monitor any person, property or company [+]

Skip Navigation LinksHome >
VOL. 113 | NO. 153 | Wednesday, August 11, 1999

Print | Front Page | Email this story | Comments ()
Leonard I Randall H. Brown has been appointed chief financial officer for Allen & OHara Inc. He formerly was director of corporate finance for Promus Hotel Corp. A certified public accountant, Brown has bachelors degrees from the University of Memphis and the University of Tennessee. Ken Woodmansee has joined Chandler, Ehrlich & Co. as account manager. He formerly was manager of marketing and creative services at Vance Publishing Corp. Roy Granger has been named vice president of Clovernook Center for the Blinds Memphis Vocational Training Center. He formerly was director of rehabilitation and services at The Lighthouse for the Blind in New Orleans. Musette Morgan and Robert E. Loeb have been appointed to the Memphis University School board of trustees. Leonard I. Compton has been named by the Tennessee Pharmacists Association as the 1999 winner of the Bowl of Hygeia Award for outstanding community service. Roland McElrath, finance director for the city of Memphis, received an Award of Financial Reporting Achievement from the Government Finance Officers Association of the United States and Canada. The city of Memphis received a Certificate of Achievement for Excellence in Financial Reporting. Michael D. Whitten, general auditor for Memphis Light, Gas & Water, has been named a certified internal auditor by the Institute of Internal Auditors. Edward A. Burch, general agent for Northwestern Mutual Life, has received the 1999 GAMA International Management Award, Gold Level, for management excellence in the insurance and financial services industry. Memphis University School announced nine new faculty and staff members for the upcoming school year: Dr. Patricia Kilzer, chemistry; David Ferebee, athletics; Darin Clifft, mathematics; Matt Bakke, health, physical education and athletics; Bonnie Baker, library; Joe Tyler, mathematics and athletics; Susan Quinn, mathematics; Jean Saunders, admissions; and Ernie Bennett; athletics. Scott Giles and Darrell Douglas, senior financial advisors for American Express, are now located at 1st Trust Bank, 6525 Quail Hollow. The Mid-South chapter of the American Red Cross announced seven new board members: Robert Benham; Linda Bourassa, director of marketing for Powertel; Jean Burkley; James Gordon of Ridgeway Communications Associates Inc.; Bob Martin of Memphis-Shelby County Airport Authority; Rick Pride, vice president of systems for Smith and Nephew; and Ron Tate. Officers include Col. William E. Freeman of Shelby County government, chair; Dee Wallace of Harrahs Entertainment, vice chair; Elizabeth Stacy, vice president of SouthTrust Bank, secretary; and Kimberly Young of Baptist Memorial Healthcare Corp., treasurer. David Evans, an ethnomusicologist at the University of Memphis, received a Critics Choice Award from Living Blues magazine for the liner notes of "Lucky 13" by Big Lucky Carter. Debbie P. Thompson, general manager of Credit Union Processing Services, was recognized by the Internal Revenue Service as an exemplary electronic return originator in its 1999 e-file program. Dr. John Austin, a member of the Shelby State Community College Foundation board of directors, has received a 1999 Benefactor Award from the Tennessee Council for Resource Development. Mark VII Transportation was named 1998 Intermodal Carrier of the Year by SC Johnson Wax and 1998 Carrier of the Year by BASF Corp.
PROPERTY SALES 0 291 21,272
MORTGAGES 0 160 16,194
BUILDING PERMITS 258 692 41,920
BANKRUPTCIES 1 117 6,579