» Subscribe Today!
More of what you want to know.
The Daily News

Forgot your password?
TDN Services
Research millions of people and properties [+]
Monitor any person, property or company [+]

Skip Navigation LinksHome >
VOL. 113 | NO. 109 | Wednesday, June 2, 1999

Print | Front Page | Email this story | Comments ()
Dr Philip G. Satre, chairman and chief executive officer of Harrahs Entertainment Inc., has been named to the board of directors of JDN Realty Corp. Paul Stone has been named executive vice president and chief financial officer of Mark VII Inc. Stone has been CFO of Geo-Logistics Network Solutions Inc. since 1997. Peter Leddy has been appointed executive vice president, human resources, for Promus Hotel Corp. Leddy formerly was group vice president/director of executive development for PepsiCo Inc. He has a bachelors degree from Creighton University and masters and doctorate degrees from the Illinois Institute of Technology. Lisa Ball has joined WestRogers as public relations/marketing communications director. Ball formerly worked for Harrahs Entertainment Inc. Rick Masson, chief administrative officer for the city of Memphis, received the American Society of Public Administrations Administrator of the Year Award. Susan Tomlinson Schmidt, director of communications for the International Childrens Heart Foundation, was named ASPA Student of the Year by the University of Memphis graduate program in public administration. Doug Morris has joined Jackson-Hewitt Service. He formerly was with Edward D. Jones Investments. He also has created Landon Investments, which he will operate from the tax offices. Larry Clark, Patricia Kennedy, Bobby Mooring and Cathy Essary have joined Re/Max Elite. David Patterson has joined Re/Max Group, Tom Robinson has joined Re/Max On Track, and Frank Smith has joined Re/Max Ready Team. Mark W. Askew of Askew Hargraves Harcourt & Associates has been elected president of the new West Tennessee Structural Engineers Association. Other officers include first vice president Joel Chandler of Ellers, Oakley, Chester & Rike; second vice president Michael E. Sheridan of Allen & Hoshall; secretary Clay D. Williams of TLM Associates Inc.; and treasurer Jay K. Stressel of Memphis Light, Gas & Water. Deborah Ferrell, member of the National Alliance for the Mentally Ill, and Steve Bush, a Shelby County public defender, have been named to the state Criminal Justice Task Force. The group was formed to examine issues involving people with mental illness in the criminal justice system. Elizabeth Dawkins, a nurse at Baptist Memorial Hospital-Medical Center, received the Virginia McCaskill Award during Celebrate Nursing Week. The award honors the top nurse in Shelby and Fayette counties. Shirley Speed and Randy Flatt received Statesmen of the Year awards from the Tennessee Republican Party. Dr. Catherine Wilson, an art teacher at Chimney Rock Elementary School, was one of six teachers to receive the Tennessee Humanities Councils Outstanding Teacher of the Year. Dr. Antonius A. Miller of the University of Tennessees Division of Hematology/Oncology recently received the Israel Cancer Research Funds Elliott Osserman Award for Distinguished Service in Support of Cancer Research. Charles R. Slaton, former chief executive officer of Saint Francis Hospital, has been named vice president and regional director of Tenet Healthcare Corp.s Texas region. Lisa Bell was elected president of Kiwanis Club of Memphis for its 1999/2000 year. Other officers are vice president Dave Moreau, secretary Jim Strickland and president elect Chuck Strong. Shelby Foote received the Cleanth Brooks Medal for Distinguished Achievement in Southern Letters from the Fellowship of Southern Writers. Cynthia Marshall, professor of English at Rhodes College, has received an Excellence in Teaching Award from the South Atlantic Association of Departments of English and a fellowship from the Folger Shakespeare Library. Yvonne B. Acey, a teacher in Memphis City Schools, received the Susan B. Anthony Award for outstanding contributions to womens rights from the Tennessee Education Association. Avron B. Fogelman, founder of the Avron B. Fogelman Scholars Program, which provides college scholarships to graduates of local public schools, received the TEAs E. Harper Johnson Award. Robert T. Carlock of R.T. Carlock Co. has been appointed to the Committee on National Electrical Code, Panel 18, for the National Fire Protection Association.
PROPERTY SALES 81 277 20,909
MORTGAGES 85 329 24,074
BUILDING PERMITS 219 672 43,265
BANKRUPTCIES 64 238 13,418