» Subscribe Today!
More of what you want to know.
The Daily News

Forgot your password?
TDN Services
Research millions of people and properties [+]
Monitor any person, property or company [+]

Skip Navigation LinksHome >
VOL. 113 | NO. 95 | Wednesday, May 12, 1999

Print | Front Page | Email this story | Comments ()
Larry W Louis C. Jehl Jr. was named vice president and controller of Perkins Family Restaurants. Jehl has been acting controller since February. He was previously director of treasury and strategic planning. Jehl is a graduate of Washington and Lee University. Larry W. Miller has been named president of Dalphis Inc. Marc L. Schatten has been named an associate member of the law firm of Glankler Brown PLLC. He received his law degree from Vanderbilt University. Ronald Ohsfeldt has been appointed technical consultant for First Mercantile Trust Co. He previously was manager of The Wyatt Co.s Memphis office. David L. Lloyd has been named manager of Askew Hargraves Harcourt & Associates new mechanical, electrical and plumbing department. James H. Daughdrill Jr., president of Rhodes College, has been elected to the board of directors for National Commerce Bancorp. Joseph T. Bond, director of purchasing at the University of Memphis, has been awarded the National Association of Educational Buyers Bert C. Ahrens Achievement Award. Michael Drompp, associate professor of history at Rhodes College, received the Clarence Day Award for Outstanding Teaching. Gail Streete, associate professor of religious studies at Rhodes, received the Clarence Day Deans Award for Outstanding Research and/or Creativity. The University of Memphis has announced its 1999 Distinguished Alumni Awards. Ben C. Bryant Jr., chief executive officer and vice chairman of SCB Technology Inc., and Gail Robinson, an opera singer and visiting artist at the U of M, will receive the Distinguished Alumni Awards. Dr. Benjamin L. Hooks, former executive director of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People and pastor of Greater Middle Baptist Church, will be presented the Distinguished Friend Award. John Dye, who stars in "Touched by an Angel," will receive the Outstanding Young Alumnus Award. The University of Memphis has announced several faculty awards. Dr. Arthur C. Graesser, a psychology professor, has been named the 1999 winner of the Board of Visitors Eminent Faculty Award. Dr. Jack Grubaugh, an assistant professor of biology, and Dr. Mark C. Timmons, a professor of philosophy, have been named winners of the 1999 Thomas W. Briggs Foundation Excellence in Teaching Award. Dr. Lester J. Pourciau, retiring director of libraries, has been named the recipient of the Allen J. Hammond Award for Distinguished Service. Dr. Thomas R. Caplinger, a mathematics professor; Sherman Franklin, a business law professor; Roger Kirk, an instructor in accountancy; and psychology professor Robert Neimeyer have been named winners of the Alumni Association Distinguished Teaching Award. Gloria Baxter, a theater professor; Dr. George Annastassiou, a math professor; Dr. Terence Horgan and Dr. John Tienson, philosophy professors; and psychology professor Dr. Bruce Bracken were named winners of the Alumni Association Distinguished Research Award. Mason Granger, most recently executive vice president and general manager of WMC-TV, has been named president and general manager of WDSU-TV in New Orleans, La.
PROPERTY SALES 74 74 17,458
MORTGAGES 93 93 20,128
BUILDING PERMITS 126 126 36,072
BANKRUPTCIES 63 63 11,227