» Subscribe Today!
More of what you want to know.
The Daily News

Forgot your password?
TDN Services
Research millions of people and properties [+]
Monitor any person, property or company [+]

Skip Navigation LinksHome >
VOL. 113 | NO. 54 | Wednesday, March 17, 1999

Print | Front Page | Email this story | Comments ()
Vastera Adds Dennis Jones, FDX CIO, Dennis H. Jones, executive vice president of information technology and chief information officer for FDX Corp., has been appointed to the board of directors for Vastera Inc. Ernst & Young announced the following additions to its firm: Lauren Alford, tax compliance manager; Wes Bowen, senior tax consultant; Steven House, tax consulting manager; Holly Graeter, marketing manager; and Bill Wright, assistant director of marketing. Edson Peredo, president of Buckman Laboratories International, has been named honorary consul of Brazil. International Paper has announced organizational changes in anticipation of its planned merger with Union Camp Corp. John T. Dillon, chairman and chief executive officer, David Oskin and Wes Smith will form the companys newly created executive office. Marianne Parrs will be promoted to executive vice president-administration and chief financial officer. Bill Slowikowski will lead consumer packaging, George OBrien will have responsibility for forest resources, Jim Cederna will be responsible for the combined chemicals and dissolving pulp business, Tom Costello will have responsibility for distribution, Newland Lesko will be responsible for the combined industrial packaging business, Manco Snapp will lead the combined building materials business and Susan Arseven, currently with Union Camp, will be responsible for information technology. Charlie Greiner and Jerry Carter, currently with Union Camp, will become senior vice president and senior vice president for human resources, respectively. Cam Welton has been named executive vice president and chief administrative officer for Methodist Healthcare. He most recently was senior vice president of Methodist Healthcare and president of its Mississippi division. Robin Barca has been named senior vice president of Methodist Healthcare-Memphis Hospitals and administrator of Methodist Healthcare-Central Hospital. Barca formerly was executive vice president and chief operating officer with Methodist Healthcares Jackson, Miss., hospitals. Chris McLean has been named vice president of finance for Methodist Healthcares Memphis division. He was chief financial officer for the Mississippi division. Michelle Collis has been named vice president of communications and marketing services for Methodist Healthcare. She formerly was corporate director of marketing. She has a masters degree from the University of Memphis. Lee Meyers was named corporate director of marketing. She previously was vice president of marketing services. Jeff Emerson has joined Construction Management Plus Inc. as vice president. He previously was senior project manager for Wooldridge Construction Co. Emerson is a graduate of Murray State University. Pam Magee has been appointed director of medical staff services for Baptist Memorial Health Care Corp. She most recently was manager of medical staff services for Baptist Medical Center and Baptist East. Pam Moon has been named dean of student services at Baptist College of Health Sciences. She formerly was assistant vice chancellor for student affairs at the University of Tennessee-Memphis. She has a bachelors degree from the University of Tennessee and masters and doctorate degrees from the University of Memphis. Mark Fogelman of Fogelman Properties has been elected 1999 vice president of the Tennessee Apartment Association. Bob Bernstein, director of Senior Outreach Services for Baptist Memorial Health Care Corp., has been nominated to serve on the Marriott Brighton Gardens Senior Living Facilities advisory council and the Memphis Jewish Family Services board of directors. Bruce D. Brooke has achieved certification as a civil trial advocate from the national Board of Trial Advocacy. Kris Whitson of Meridian Manufacturing Corp., will serve as the 1999-2000 president of the Phoenix Club. Other officers include executive vice president Patrick Demere of First Tennessee Bank; vice president-membership Dabney Collier III of Collier Insurance; vice president-programs Ronnie Solberg of Sonic Properties; treasurer Michael Head of Oak Hall Inc.; assistant treasurer John Campbell of Hale Headrick Dewey & Wolf PLLC; secretary Frank Colvett Jr. of Greenscape Inc.; chaplain Stephen Clinton of JMGR Inc.; and greeting card chairman Kemp Conrad of Boyle Insurance Co.
PROPERTY SALES 40 220 16,417
MORTGAGES 28 85 10,172
BUILDING PERMITS 161 826 39,370
BANKRUPTCIES 29 136 7,733