» Subscribe Today!
More of what you want to know.
The Daily News

Forgot your password?
TDN Services
Research millions of people and properties [+]
Monitor any person, property or company [+]

Skip Navigation LinksHome >
VOL. 112 | NO. 51 | Wednesday, April 1, 1998

Print | Front Page | Email this story | Comments ()
Dr Dr. Bill Poston has been named vice president of clinical integration and quality for Baptist Memorial Health Care Corp.s Memphis metropolitan area. He formerly was chief of staff for Baptist Memorial Hospital at its Medical Center and East Memphis locations. He is a graduate of Duke University Medical School and has a bachelors degree from the University of North Carolina. Jerry Brantley, former administrator for Baptist Memorial Hospital-Medical Center, has been promoted to senior administrator for Baptist Memorial Health Care Corp.-Metro Memphis. Jim Ainsworth, former administrator of clinical services at Baptist Memorial Hospital-Medical Center, has been named administrator for BMH-Medical Center. He also has been awarded the University of Mississippis Distinguished Alumnus Award. Robert R. Cash has been appointed vice president of sales and marketing for Cortelco Systems. He formerly was senior vice president at Coherent Communications Systems Corp. in Leesburg, Va. He has a masters degree from Rutgers University and a bachelors degree from Lipscomb University. Shannon King has joined Arnoult & Associates Inc. as a project assistant. She received a bachelors degree from Arkansas State University. Dawn Chandler Bulone joined Arnoult & Associates in September as an associate. She formerly was manager of prospect research at Methodist Hospitals. Jan Gwin was elected chairman of the AXA/Equitable Liberty Bowl. Other officers include president Jim Campbell, first vice president Ric Wolbrecht, secretary John Barzizza and treasurer Greg Duckett. Tom Cowens, senior facilities manager for Trammell Crow Co., was elected 1998-1999 president of the Phoenix Club. Other officers include vice president of fund-raising Kris Whitson, vice president of programs Dabney Collier III, vice president of membership Patrick Demere, treasurer Phil Stevenson, assistant treasurer Kemp Conrad, secretary Ronnie Solberg, chaplain Stephen Clinton and greeting card chairman Michael Head. Women of Achievement has honored seven local women for their contributions to the community: Lucie Campbell for heritage (posthumously), Shelia Tankersley for determination; Tonga Nguyen for initiative, Doris Bradshaw for courage, Alison Williams for heroism, Ellida Sadler Fri for vision and Jeanne Dreifus for steadfastness. James H. Daughdrill Jr., president of Rhodes College, was elected president of the Southern University Conference. David B. Ferraro, president of Buckeye Technologies Inc., has been elected chairman of the board of the United Way of the Mid South. Other officers include chairman elect Dr. Jesse McClure, vice chancellor, university relations, University of Tennessee; nominating committee chairman Gary S. Shorb, president and chief operating officer, Methodist/Le Bonheur Healthcare; treasurer and finance chairman Walter E. Drissel, president, W.E. Drissel & Associates LLC; secretary and counsel Herbert B. Wolf Jr., partner, Waring Cox PLC; chairman for community initiatives Wilhelmenia L. Bonds, retired postmaster; chairman for fund distribution Robert M. Fockler, managing director, Morgan Keegan & Co. Inc.; chairman for labor participation Fred B. Ashwill, labor coordinator for the Tennessee AFL-CIO Technical Assistance Program; and chairman for marketing and communications Kimberly S. Brisco, principal in Brisco Communications. David Yawn, senior communications specialist at Federal Express, has been awarded a Crystal Award of Excellence in The Communicator Awards.
PROPERTY SALES 124 481 17,865
MORTGAGES 127 530 20,565
BUILDING PERMITS 195 891 36,836
BANKRUPTCIES 52 262 11,426