» Subscribe Today!
More of what you want to know.
The Daily News

Forgot your password?
TDN Services
Research millions of people and properties [+]
Monitor any person, property or company [+]

Skip Navigation LinksHome >
VOL. 112 | NO. 15 | Wednesday, January 28, 1998

Print | Front Page | Email this story | Comments ()
State Technical Institutes corporate center has added three assistant directors to its staff: State Technical Institutes corporate center has added three assistant directors to its staff: Jane Sipes is the new assistant director of distance learning. Sipes formerly served as director of distance learning at Shelby State Community College. Ann Meier is the new director of personal computer and Macintosh training. She formerly was a training manager at AppleTree Technologies and training manager of a local PC center. Ronald Wells is the new assistant director of corporate training. Wells formerly was an enlisted supervisor at the Naval Air Technical Training Command in Millington. Marilyn K. Dunavant has been named corporate compliance officer for Baptist Memorial Health Care Corp. She formerly served as director of corporate risk management for Baptist. Dunavant received a bachelors degree in nursing from the University of Tennessee-Memphis, a masters degree in nursing from Emory University and a law degree from the University of Richmond. John Marshall Jones became a member of the law firm of Young & Perl PLC effective Jan. 1. Jones has been an associate in the firm since 1993. Adam Slovis has joined Belz Enterprises as a retail leasing representative. Slovis most recently worked for Messinger Realty Co. as a broker. He is a graduate of the University of Maryland. Debbie M. Vaiden has joined the law firm of Waring Cox PLC as controller. She formerly worked for Bean & Ison. Vaiden received a bachelors degree from the University of Memphis. Loyal O. Hartman III has joined the audit department of Rhea & Ivy P.L.C. as a level II. He is a graduate of the University of Memphis. Stephen H. Biller of The Bogatin Law Firm PLC has been qualified as a Rule 31 mediator in civil cases by the Tennessee Supreme Court Commission on Alternative Dispute Resolution. Judy McLellan, vice president, has been named Crye-Leikes top sales agent for 1997. Her sales volume for the year exceeded $23 million on 101 transactions. Dr. Dan Lattimore, the chairman of the journalism department at the University of Memphis, has been appointed associate dean of the college of communication and fine arts. He is a graduate of Texas Christian University and has a doctorate from the University of Wisconsin. Dr. Max Garzon, a mathematics professor at the University of Memphis, has been selected for a Fulbright Fellowship in Chile. The YWCA honored three women at its annual meeting: Donna Sue Shannon received the Mertie W. Buckman Award for Community Service, Modeane Thompson received the Addie G. Owens Award for Racial Justice and Lila Beth Burke received the Ellida Sadler Fri Award for Leadership. Kevin Evans has been named the head coach of the Memphis RiverKings. He comes to the team from the Mississippi Sea Wolves where he was a player and assistant coach for two seasons. Evans formerly played for the RiverKings and served as captain. Warren A. Morris Jr. has been appointed a board member of Porter-Leath Childrens Center. He is an investment manager with Federated Investors. Kerry Sewell has been hired by the Memphis Redbirds as its store manager. He previously was assistant manager at the University Store at the University of Memphis. He is a graduate of the U of M. Phyllis Jones, senior vice president of Senior Services, was installed as president of the YWCA of Greater Memphis at its January annual meeting. Other officers installed at the meeting include first vice president Dr. Marsha Lee, treasurer Charlotte Polk and secretary Gail Gainer Bridges. Sherry Fields, executive administrative assistant at Rhodes College has been elected president of the Memphis chapter of Executive Women International. Mary Wheeler, owner of Wheeler Business Services, was elected vice president/president elect; Judy Baird, executive assistant of Proffitts Inc., was elected secretary; and Anna Hough, owner of Captivating Interiors was elected treasurer. State Rep. Lois DeBerry has been named the 1998 recipient of the Authur S. Holmon Lifetime Achievement Award by the University of Memphis Black Student Association. Charles Sims Jr. of The Sims Financial Group Inc. will serve as chairman of the board of directors for the Black Business Association. Lee Jackson of Jackson Investment Co. will serve as chairman elect, and Georgia Cannon of Union Planters National Bank will serve as treasurer. New board members include Audrey McGhee of the Tri State Defender, Hazel Moore of Hazels Hair Fashion, Marshall Shanks of Personnel Plus Temporary Agency, Juan Self of Self Tucker Architects, Henry Hooper II of Henry Hooper Insurance Agency, physician Dr. William Faulkner, Morris Brown of R.A.M. Industrial Distributors, Jef Bartow of Bartow Consulting, Otis Petties Sr. of Snells Orthotics & Prosthetics, Claudette White of GTE Cellular One and Calvin Taylor of Memphis Convention & Visitors Bureau. Rhodes College has appointed three faculty members to renewable academic chairs designed to support the scholarship of the holder, who each receive $7,500 annually for research and professional development. Thomas Barr, an associate professor and chair of the department of mathematics and computer science, was appointed to the E.C. Ellett Chair of Mathematics and Computer Science. Stephen Haynes, associate professor and chair of the department of religious studies, was appointed to the Albert B. Curry Chair of Religious Studies. Robert Llewellyn, an associate professor in the department of philosophy, was named to the interdisciplinary chair in humanities.
PROPERTY SALES 28 290 16,197
MORTGAGES 33 165 10,087
BUILDING PERMITS 184 608 38,544
BANKRUPTCIES 33 125 7,597