» Subscribe Today!
More of what you want to know.
The Daily News

Forgot your password?
TDN Services
Research millions of people and properties [+]
Monitor any person, property or company [+]

Skip Navigation LinksHome >
VOL. 110 | NO. 19 | Monday, January 29, 1996

Print | Front Page | Email this story | Comments ()
1/29 jts candidates Election Commission announces county primary candidates The Daily News The Shelby County Election Commission issued a preliminary list of Democratic and Republican candidates who have filed for the March 12 county primary elections. The commission, which approved the list Thursday, also released the names of independent candidates who will be on the ballot for the Shelby County general election on Aug. 1. The list is not final. Due to a late withdrawal, the deadline for the Circuit Court Division 3 judgeship has been extended until noon today. The withdrawal deadline is 4:30 p.m. The commission then must approve the list of division three candidates. For the Aug. 1 statewide primary, the filing deadline is May 16. Incumbent County Commissioner Linda Rendtorff will face a Republican primary race against challenger G. Lyle Tudor of 289 Stafford Circle for the District 1, Position 2 commission seat. General Sessions Court Clerk John Ford faces no Democratic challengers after filing for reelection, but the two Republican candidates, Lynn Cobb of 263 Angelus Place and Chris Turner of 4033 Graham Oaks Court, face each other in March before one of them takes on Ford in August. Robert Talley of 5451 Walnut Grove Road and Karen Williams of 63 N. Alicia Drive, both Republicans, face each other in the March primary. Republican Jim Beasley of 8421 Timber Creek Drive is running unchallenged for a judge seat in Criminal Court Division 10. Herbert Lane of 9297 Eastbridge Drive, also a Republican, faces no challengers for the judgeship of the Criminal Court Division 4, either. Republicans Chris Craft of 2275 Heatherwood Cove and William Ray Ingram of 1686 Hunters Trace run against each other in the primary race for the Criminal Court Division 10 bench. Democrats Rita Clark of 6852 Talisman Cove and Mark Flanagan of 1712 Glenwood Place run against each other for assessor of property, but Republican Harold Sterling of 6674 Elmore Ridge Lane faces no primary challenge. Two Independent candidates, Jesse "Elder" Neely of 1600 Lake Grove Drive and Charles Nichols of 5181 Gill Drive, have filed to run for assessor of property as well. Independent candidates face no primary challenge and automatically are added to the general election ballot. Independent John McCarroll withdrew his candidacy on Jan. 24 for the Circuit Court Division 3 bench. This created the vacancy that extended the filing deadline until noon today. Independent Carolyn Blackett of 2594 Lanrick Cove will face Republican Herbert Lane for Criminal Court judge, Division 4. Two independents have entered the race for General Sessions court clerk as well. Joe Cooper of 5414 N. Clover Drive and Tony Rush of 1711 Liverpool Drive will take on John Ford and the winner of the Republican primary in August.
PROPERTY SALES 81 277 20,909
MORTGAGES 85 329 24,074
BUILDING PERMITS 219 672 43,265
BANKRUPTCIES 64 238 13,418