VOL. 7 | NO. 20 | Saturday, May 10, 2014
This week in Memphis history: May 9-15
By Bill Dries
1984: Jerome Ryans became director of the Memphis Housing Authority following the resignation of Lawrence Wade from the post. Ryans, who had been the Memphis City Council’s staff administrator prior to the appointment by the MHA board and backed by Memphis Mayor Dick Hackett, inherited what was considered a “troubled housing authority” by the federal department of Housing and Urban Development. Over several years, Ryans would reverse that, restore the confidence of the federal agency that supplied the bulk of funding to the MHA and begin to question the direction and role of public housing in Memphis.
1974: Grand opening of the Everett R. Cook Convention and Exhibition Center. The $29 million center opened with the “Mid-American Exposition” featuring 11 themed areas showcasing products and services from Memphis and the surrounding area. The exposition included a “Memphis in May” exhibit with live entertainment to promote events held in Memphis each May. Three years before the inaugural Memphis in May International Festival, those events were the annual visit of the Metropolitan Opera, Memphis Cotton Carnival, The Danny Thomas Memphis Golf Classic at Colonial Country Club and the St. Jude Shower of Stars show.
1950: Among the new privilege licenses listed in The Daily News were the Frayser Maid restaurant on Highway 51 in Frayser with a listing that it was selling ice cream and an off premises beer privilege license for John Sampietro at 550 Poplar Ave.